Strictly Trapping

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)

Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum

Topic Options
Hop to:
#5955060 - 07/20/17 02:37 AM Coni H-stands, work as stake too ?
kyron4 Offline

Registered: 06/30/13
Posts: 291
Loc: Indiana
Ordered a few dozen H stands form my 110/120's from mink and rats. If I loop the chain through one of the stand legs will it be enough to keep the trap from being pulled free or is a separate rebar stake required ? What about with 220 trail sets for coons ? -Thanks

#5955077 - 07/20/17 05:18 AM Re: Coni H-stands, work as stake too ? [Re: kyron4]
Green Bay Offline

Registered: 12/22/10
Posts: 524
Loc: Wisconsin
I don't but maybe that is me. I always rebar stake too in case something other than my target comes through.


#5955078 - 07/20/17 05:22 AM Re: Coni H-stands, work as stake too ? [Re: kyron4]

Registered: 12/26/06
Posts: 7516
Loc: Rodney,Ohio
If the ground is hard enough, you wont need additional stakes. Soft ground you may want want to stake the 220s or wire them off just in case you get an animal that didnt follow directions.

#5955136 - 07/20/17 07:54 AM Re: Coni H-stands, work as stake too ? [Re: kyron4]
kytrapper Offline

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 1190
Loc: SE Kentucky
I like to give my 110's enough wire for the mink to get out in the water.

#5955147 - 07/20/17 08:17 AM Re: Coni H-stands, work as stake too ? [Re: kyron4]
Aix sponsa Offline

Registered: 02/23/14
Posts: 6390
Loc: Louisiana
I have had great results using H-stand as my anchor for 160s, 220s, 280s, and 330s. I have 18-24" of cable with a snare end swivel on my traps. That's with firm soil. If I were setting in slop, I'd use another method to stabilize traps, because. I wouldn't want my trap to lean in soft soil anyway.

I can't say how 110s work with Hstands as the anchor, because I've never used em. I will say that when using 110/115 sized traps, I've had traps that caught rabbits taken by predators and I've also had Coons/grinners that weren't cleanly dispatched (bad catch) make off with my trap, and I've had to track them down.
If you can either quickly or quietly switch out shells, you can bring home almost anything.

#5955290 - 07/20/17 12:19 PM Re: Coni H-stands, work as stake too ? [Re: ~ADC~]
trappergbus Offline

Registered: 04/04/12
Posts: 2776
Loc: Southern Michigan
Stake em separate, thank me later..especially in water..
Common sense catches alot of fur..
Pay homage to all you harvest..

#5955370 - 07/20/17 02:29 PM Re: Coni H-stands, work as stake too ? [Re: kyron4]
TONY.F Offline

Registered: 03/02/14
Posts: 2939
Loc: N.C MO
Yes stake them even though a rat maybe small the coon that takes him might not be! Lost three last season to coons, rat trap and all. So at least attach it to a clog it don't have to be huge ! Just big enough that a predator is to inconvinenced to drag off. They will eat them on the spot and you will still have a trap at least

#5955372 - 07/20/17 02:41 PM Re: Coni H-stands, work as stake too ? [Re: kyron4]
Boco Offline

Registered: 08/08/11
Posts: 15109
Loc: james bay frontierOnt.
Wire them off separate to the trap support.


Moderator:  Drifter, tmrschessie