No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Minnesota Trapline Products
Please support our sponsor for the Trappers Talk Page - Minnesota Trapline Products



Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Hop to:
#6258692 - 06/12/18 05:31 PM New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold?
nyhuntfish Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/29/18
Posts: 83
Loc: NY
Theory: IF there are indeed 7,000 tigers in the US and say... (guessing here:) 3/4 of them aren't in a zoo....

And say: If they got loose and bred, there would be more.

So Say: If this happened (Example: in a bad economy where it were expensive to keep the tiger and people just dumped them like stupid people DO as we know already with other animals like house cats and snakes)...

Would the Trapper have a new fur bearer to trap?

And if so...What trap we use today (not buying anything new) could reliably hold a tiger?

http://www.trappersreport.com/story/Aside_7000-Tigers-in-the-US

If the answer is "only snares" then my game doesn't work. But it's worth asking. Yes first I would shoot then I would snare but what IF I wanted to use a foothold/conibear?

Top
#6258694 - 06/12/18 05:36 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
pcr2 Offline
"Twerker"

Registered: 05/17/10
Posts: 11464
Loc: potter co. p.a.
660 and a biiiiiiiiiiiiigggggggggg bucket.
_________________________

Top
#6258698 - 06/12/18 05:39 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
nyhuntfish Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/29/18
Posts: 83
Loc: NY
Ha! 660 is a trap. I did not know that. That's amazing.

Top
#6258721 - 06/12/18 06:21 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
Boco Offline
trapper

Registered: 08/08/11
Posts: 16011
Loc: james bay frontierOnt.
If you wanted to foothold a tiger You would use a belisle footsnare.

Top
#6258723 - 06/12/18 06:25 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
Wolfdog91 Offline
trapper

Registered: 07/30/13
Posts: 4009
Loc: Amite county Mississippi
Can I modify?
_________________________
Trappermans Resident Black Guy
The Black Redneck! 20yrs
MS National Guardsmen
I Like Moddin Traps 'N Trapping Possums
Go Ordnance!!!!

Top
#6258725 - 06/12/18 06:31 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
ETexTrapper Offline
trapper

Registered: 07/12/13
Posts: 2303
Loc: Warren, (Southeast) Texas
I'd try a 4 coiled heavily modified TS85 with teeth.
_________________________
Jordan ADC and Trap Modification

Top
#6258726 - 06/12/18 06:32 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
ShaneT Offline
trapper

Registered: 10/13/12
Posts: 4426
Loc: Louisiana
Duke 1.5
_________________________
"Good Lord, thank you for your endless bounty. Lord please give me the strength to gather what I need"

"Seriously, Nike had it right, Just Do It."

Top
#6258731 - 06/12/18 06:35 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: ShaneT]
Catch22 Offline
trapper

Registered: 11/21/15
Posts: 5768
Loc: OH
Originally Posted By: ShaneT
Duke 1.5

grin
_________________________
I will tell you how special I am. I am what Willis was talking about.....

Top
#6258741 - 06/12/18 07:04 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
David Morse Offline
trapper

Registered: 04/06/17
Posts: 285
Loc: Upstate NY
Just poke a thorn in its foot and you won't need a trap.
_________________________
life member NYSTA

Top
#6258746 - 06/12/18 07:11 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: David Morse]
teepee2 Offline
trapper

Registered: 07/28/17
Posts: 272
Loc: IA
It must be summer.

Top
#6258765 - 06/12/18 07:48 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
Mike in A-town Offline
trapper

Registered: 09/29/13
Posts: 6378
Loc: Northeast Oklahoma
People don't realize how big tigers can get. 1000 lbs is not unheard of for Siberian tigers...

If we're talking strictly footholds then I would start with nothing less than a bear trap.

Mike
_________________________
One man with a gun may control 100 others who have none.

Vladimir Lenin

Top
#6258777 - 06/12/18 08:08 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
trapre Offline
trapper

Registered: 11/29/17
Posts: 451
Loc: Near state college, PA, God Bl...
_________________________
“Loyalty to country ALWAYS. Loyalty to government, when it deserves it.”
-Mark Twain

Top
#6258779 - 06/12/18 08:18 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: Boco]
white17 Offline

"General (Mr.Sunshine) Washington"

Registered: 03/17/07
Posts: 24676
Loc: McGrath, AK
Originally Posted By: Boco
If you wanted to foothold a tiger You would use a belisle footsnare.


That would certainly be my first choice. Probably my only choice. But, as far as I know there is only one forum member who has in fact, trapped Siberian tigers. Maybe we will get some valid input from him.
_________________________
Mean As Nails

Top
#6258813 - 06/12/18 09:15 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
Furvor Offline
trapper

Registered: 07/06/08
Posts: 1079
Loc: Idaho Falls, ID
The are chain locks on the market. Maybe a chain Snare? Should be fun holding it in set position. Kinda like snipe hunting? Hold that tiger.

Top
#6258816 - 06/12/18 09:19 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
Ryan McLeod Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/09/14
Posts: 1414
Loc: NWT
You cut an x on top of a 45 gallon drum. Bend them tabs inward. Use some dobbins Siberian tiger lure and a whole beaver to get him to stick his head in there and then 1000 pounds or more of angry cat will be good as dead. If that’s too much for you then maybe you shouldn’t be trapping tigers.
_________________________
If you take care of the land the land will take care of you

Top
#6258817 - 06/12/18 09:21 PM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
Ryan McLeod Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/09/14
Posts: 1414
Loc: NWT
Second choice would an Alaska #15 which I believe JR is designing right now.
_________________________
If you take care of the land the land will take care of you

Top
#6258937 - 06/13/18 05:48 AM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
OhioBoy Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/22/12
Posts: 1946
Loc: Ohio
Pass. I'm out.



Top
#6258942 - 06/13/18 05:59 AM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
pcr2 Offline
"Twerker"

Registered: 05/17/10
Posts: 11464
Loc: potter co. p.a.
eat em backs,yeah baby i'll climb on board.lot worse ways to go out than tiger poop.
_________________________

Top
#6258944 - 06/13/18 06:00 AM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: nyhuntfish]
pcr2 Offline
"Twerker"

Registered: 05/17/10
Posts: 11464
Loc: potter co. p.a.
how big would ya dig the dirthole though??
_________________________

Top
#6258970 - 06/13/18 06:54 AM Re: New Game: Which Trap we already use could hold? [Re: white17]
tjm Offline
trapper

Registered: 11/11/11
Posts: 7536
Loc: SWMo.
Originally Posted By: white17
But, as far as I know there is only one forum member who has in fact, trapped Siberian tigers. Maybe we will get some valid input from him.
Exactly what I was thinking.

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >