Strictly Trapping

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Trading Post
(Please support F&T Trading Post, our sponsor for the Trapping Only Forum)

TrappersPost
Please support Trappers post, a sponsor of the Strictly Trapping Forum

Print Thread
Hop To
Trap Prep Question #6265700
06/23/18 06:57 PM
06/23/18 06:57 PM
Kingston, PA
TheBig1 Offline OP
trapper
TheBig1  Offline OP
trapper

Kingston, PA
As you may already know I’m new to trapping. I’ve acquired a few dozen used traps and have switched chains and swivels and have adjusted pan height and pan tension. Of course they’re used and in very good shape. They kind of have that grease mixed with a ton of dust coating to them that comes after years of sitting.

I DO NOT have a propane burner for boiling and waxing. I also know that everyone has they’re specific way of doing things but I really like to try to keep things simple. So please tell me if what I’m going to describe will work and please let me know if there’s anything that you would do different.

1. Now that all is checked, etc... I plan to power wash everything.
2. After power washing allow to set and weather a little although not much for the old traps.
3. Dip in FMJ and allow to cure for a few days prior to storing in plastic totes.

How’s that, did I miss anything?

You can't cheat the mountain pilgrim. Mountain's got its own ways.
Re: Trap Prep Question [Re: TheBig1] #6265802
06/23/18 10:51 PM
06/23/18 10:51 PM