Lure and Bait Making

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

KaatzBros
(Please support Kaatz Brothers Lures, our sponsor for the Lure and Bait Making Page)

Topic Options
Hop to:
#6276491 - 07/10/18 06:20 PM Lure came out wrong??
Yes sir Offline
trapper

Loc: Marion Kansas
Anyone else ever mix something up and it doesn't come out smelling anything close to what you expected. Happens to me more than I would think it should (but I'm just learning). I'll share me latest experience. So I have a pint of deer testicles that I aged for a month and then preserved. They had a fishy smell when I preserved them. About 2 weeks ago I decided to use them. Opened jar and the odor had changed to kind of an earthy musky odor. Took two ounces of this for the base and added. 8 drops tinctured Civit musk and a drop of tonquin musk. Now the formulation smells like chocolate to me. Wife will not smell any more of my trapping lures (which she never agrees with the smell of one with me anyways) to verify what I'm smelling. I'll go ahead and test anyways. Who knows..

Edited by Yes sir (07/10/18 06:22 PM)

#6276523 - 07/10/18 07:00 PM Re: Lure came out wrong?? [Re: Yes sir]
danny clifton Offline
trapper

Loc: williamsburg ks
what was your theory when adding civet and tonquin to them?

#6276526 - 07/10/18 07:03 PM Re: Lure came out wrong?? [Re: Yes sir]
Yes sir Offline
trapper