ADC Trapper Forum

No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


WCS
(Please support Wildlife Control Supplies, our sponsor for the ADC Page)






Topic Options
Hop to:
#6278497 - 07/13/18 07:05 PM Using a different phone number
JoeyHalk Offline
trapper

Registered: 04/05/08
Posts: 1711
Loc: lima ohio (NW) 24 y/o
Hey guys,

I've worked for a great nuisance trapping company before, but I have since moved. I have a job already, but I'm looking to start my own thing. I've moved to a totally new state with basically the same wildlife. I know I can deal with people, catch critters, provide information, and do maintenance type work. I've got a website and some signs made up already, but I'm using my regular phone.

My question is do you think using a phone number from a different area code is going to prevent people from calling?
I'd rather not pay a new phone bill just yet until I get some business, but maybe people won't call the number. But then I think of all the 1800 numbers that people call not knowing where that phone is located.

Maybe the answer is "you don't know unless you try", but I was just wondering if anyone has had this type of experience before.

Thanks.
_________________________
once you go trap, you never come back


Top
#6278521 - 07/13/18 08:04 PM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
trapdye Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 563
Loc: Adirondacks, N.Y.
I don't think it would bother any, I had my old area code on my cell for a long time, Only thing was, Old clients would call looking for me.
_________________________
John's Nuisance Wildlife Control
If you like what you do for a living, It's better than a vacation. Most days.

Top
#6278869 - 07/14/18 11:06 AM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
bjansma Offline
trapper

Registered: 06/24/13
Posts: 22
Loc: Indiana
What's your average expected revenue per job? You probably only need to pick up one or two jobs a year with the local phone number for it to make sense $$ wise. Look at less expensive options like a forwarding number that transfers everything to your existing line. Grasshopper is a good one to look into.
_________________________
Bob Jansma
IllianaWildlifeServices.com

Top
#6278875 - 07/14/18 11:13 AM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
WCT Offline
trapper

Registered: 01/27/13
Posts: 23
Loc: OH
As Ohio Division of Wildlife publishes a list of all licensed nuisance wild animal control businesses by county and out of state, any prospect looking at the list to verify license may question why you don't have an Ohio area code and potentially pass.

If you're going to be starting a business in Ohio (or any state for that matter) or even just offering services in a specific state, I'd recommend getting a phone number for your service area. Every year I speak with multiple prospects that ask me about other companies they were concerned to call because they didn't have the same area code the prospect did. I can only image how many wouldn't even ask the question when it's an out of state number.
_________________________
Eric Arnold
www.wctmagazine.com

Top
#6278924 - 07/14/18 12:50 PM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
BigBob Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 14681
Loc: St. Louis Co, Mo
Larger Urban areas have multiple Area Codes anyway.
_________________________
Every kid needs a Dog and a Curmudgeon.

Remember Bowe Bergdahl, the traitor.

Beware! Jill Pudlewski, Ron Oates and Keven Begesse are liars and thiefs!

Top
#6279101 - 07/14/18 06:22 PM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
EatenByLimestone Offline
trapper

Registered: 10/01/11
Posts: 122
Loc: Schenectady, NY
You can get a local prepaid cell phone with 7gigs of data for $50/month through Verizon. My wife uses tracphone and her plan is something like $20/month.

You'll be spending over that in gas every day running your routes.

If you could pick up 1 more job each month from somebody who wants a local company, is it worth $20-30?

Top
#6279257 - 07/14/18 11:20 PM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
pass-thru Offline
trapper

Registered: 12/23/06
Posts: 2756
Loc: Va
If this is your business, I would definitely get a local area code. Should be able to keep your plan and update to a local number anyway.

Top
#6279411 - 07/15/18 08:24 AM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
Aix sponsa Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/23/14
Posts: 6960
Loc: Louisiana
If you’re near large cities, I wouldn’t think so. However, you can add a line and have all calls forwarded to your primary phone.


You’d then carry 1 phone, and which number they dial won’t matter.



It doesn’t really cost much to add a line.
_________________________
Winners Focus on Winning; Losers Focus on Winners—-Morris


Don’t Tread on Me!

Top
#6279445 - 07/15/18 09:07 AM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
star flakes Offline
trapper

Registered: 02/19/15
Posts: 146
Loc: MN, USA
Put in your advertisement big city trained and now moved to God's country Ohio to meet all of your needs. Solves the phone number for those who would be put off.

Top
#6279472 - 07/15/18 10:13 AM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
JoeyHalk Offline
trapper

Registered: 04/05/08
Posts: 1711
Loc: lima ohio (NW) 24 y/o
Thank you guys for all of your thoughts!
I think I'm going to check out call forwarding services soon. I'd hate to lose my number. I've had the same one since I got my first phone. I like the idea of two numbers on the same phone. I've even looked into apps on my phone that give you a second number with a different area code, but the free app didn't have any numbers left for my new area.

Just to clear things up, I am going from Cincinnati, OH to Philadelphia, PA.
_________________________
once you go trap, you never come back


Top
#6287876 - 07/27/18 02:42 AM Re: Using a different phone number [Re: JoeyHalk]
KenaiKid Offline
trapper

Registered: 11/21/15
Posts: 444
Loc: Kenai AK
Depends on the type of town you’re in. Around bigger cities where people move a lot more, everyone has a different area code. Here in my small town folks have a definite distrust of outside “gypsy” businesses, so a local number is essential.

Top