No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers ***NO POLITICS
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter

Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting~The Pen and Quill

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum~ Fermenter's Forum

~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~

Minnesota Trapline Products
Please support our sponsor for the Trappers Talk Page - Minnesota Trapline Products

Print Thread
Hop To
Necker 600/ beam curvature? #6428588
01/14/19 09:15 PM
01/14/19 09:15 PM
East-Central Wisconsin
B
bblwi Offline OP
trapper
bblwi  Offline OP
trapper
B

East-Central Wisconsin
I have been using a Necker 600 for about 200 years. As I get older I am working to keep the sharp edge sharper. I have two 600s. One I have used every year and one I just used on 10 coons this year. The newer one is much sharper. I have not been able to effectively get the sharp edge much sharper on the older knife. What are some ways others get and keep those edges sharp?

Also I have been using a wall mounted beam that is quite flat. What is the best curvature from your experiences that works with a knife like the Necker 600? I do very few yotes, and few otters. It is 98% coon and or grinners. I use other knives for mink and rats. I am keeping the dull edge pretty dull but I am finding that pushing a lot of fat and membrane is getting more difficult.

Thank you

Bryce

Re: Necker 600/ beam curvature? [Re: bblwi] #6428620
01/14/19 09:40 PM
01/14/19 09:40 PM
S.E. Ohio
M
M.Magis Offline
trapper
M.Magis  Offline
trapper
M

S.E. Ohio