No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum~ Fermenter's Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Minnesota Trapline Products
Please support our sponsor for the Trappers Talk Page - Minnesota Trapline Products


Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Coon skinning machine height? #6489991
03/13/19 06:53 PM
03/13/19 06:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
I
IACoonTrapper Offline OP
trapper
IACoonTrapper  Offline OP
trapper
I

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
I'm planning building a skinning machine for next season. Only building it to skin coons, so I don't need one big enough for yotes. The ceiling in the new fur shed is 8ft. If I cut a hole and went up to the peak, it would give me just over 9ft. Would this be enough for pulling coons? Also, how far from the ground should I make my vice grips? Any feedback is appreciated, Thanks!

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490010
03/13/19 07:16 PM
03/13/19 07:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 13,585
West Virginia,age 42
cathryn Offline
trapper
cathryn  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 13,585
West Virginia,age 42
How big are your freaking coons??

Itd be tall enough for our cooms


IF IDIOTS GREW ON TREES THIS PLACE WOULD BE AN ORCHARD !

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490014
03/13/19 07:18 PM
03/13/19 07:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,306
Slaughter Slough, MN
Dead Coyote Offline
trapper
Dead Coyote  Offline
trapper

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,306
Slaughter Slough, MN
9 foot will be enough if you put your clamps 2 feet off the floor. Once in a great while you might get a big coon you can't pull to the nose. But you will do 99% of them with this setup.


Live everyday like it is the last day of your life!
MJPPTA 1%
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490026
03/13/19 07:28 PM
03/13/19 07:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
I
IACoonTrapper Offline OP
trapper
IACoonTrapper  Offline OP
trapper
I

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
Thanks for the help

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: cathryn] #6490092
03/13/19 08:19 PM
03/13/19 08:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,778
Iowa
~ADC~ Offline
The Count
~ADC~  Offline
The Count

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,778
Iowa
Originally Posted by cathryn
How big are your freaking coons??

Itd be tall enough for our cooms


Some are 30-35lbs, 5-6X.

You'll be ok most of the time like Shannon said with 9'.

I'm sure beav will be on here to bad mouth the grips soon. lol

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490152
03/13/19 09:00 PM
03/13/19 09:00 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
I
IACoonTrapper Offline OP
trapper
IACoonTrapper  Offline OP
trapper
I

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
One other thing. How far apart should I have my vice grips from each other? and whats a good minimum distance from the wall to the grips?

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490262
03/13/19 10:30 PM
03/13/19 10:30 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 792
wyoming southeast
D
danvee Offline
trapper
danvee  Offline
trapper
D

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 792
wyoming southeast
Build it horizontal instead of vertical seen several that way.

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: danvee] #6490284
03/13/19 10:51 PM
03/13/19 10:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
I
IACoonTrapper Offline OP
trapper
IACoonTrapper  Offline OP
trapper
I

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
Originally Posted by danvee
Build it horizontal instead of vertical seen several that way.

Ive heard some people who have horizontal ones love em, but I just don't have the room in my shed for it. Otherwise I would give it a try.

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490309
03/13/19 11:16 PM
03/13/19 11:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,306
Slaughter Slough, MN
Dead Coyote Offline
trapper
Dead Coyote  Offline
trapper

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,306
Slaughter Slough, MN
Originally Posted by IACoonTrapper
One other thing. How far apart should I have my vice grips from each other? and whats a good minimum distance from the wall to the grips?

8 to 10 inches will do.


Live everyday like it is the last day of your life!
MJPPTA 1%
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490353
03/14/19 12:02 AM
03/14/19 12:02 AM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
Y
yukonal Offline
trapper
yukonal  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
Originally Posted by IACoonTrapper
Originally Posted by danvee
Build it horizontal instead of vertical seen several that way.

Ive heard some people who have horizontal ones love em, but I just don't have the room in my shed for it. Otherwise I would give it a try.


I built one, and use it for everything. If room is an issue, just anchor your clamps to a wall. Mount the winch to a table (maybe on casters), and get the table as close or as far away to make it work.

I built mine on a 7' X 2' table, and installed casters to the bottom. When not in use, I roll it under a boat for storage. You could roll it anywhere. When I need it, O roll it up to a free standing workbench in the middle of my shop, and put it up on that. Perfect height, and all my tools are right there.

Easy on the back, and no blood running down. Everything is at waist height. wink

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: yukonal] #6490365
03/14/19 12:18 AM
03/14/19 12:18 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
I
IACoonTrapper Offline OP
trapper
IACoonTrapper  Offline OP
trapper
I

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
yukonal, that sounds like an idea. Do you happen have any pictures of it?

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490393
03/14/19 02:03 AM
03/14/19 02:03 AM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
Nebraska
Poorcoon Offline
trapper
Poorcoon  Offline
trapper

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
Nebraska
I wouldn't want any less than 12 feet. Some of them big ol Coon can get stretched out longer than you think. But whatever you got to do


"Nothing I like to do pays well." True Grit

"Revenge is in the hands of God, not mine." Revenant.
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490485
03/14/19 07:58 AM
03/14/19 07:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,322
Pottawatamie co. IA
LLtrapper Offline
"The Coon Combine"
LLtrapper  Offline
"The Coon Combine"

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,322
Pottawatamie co. IA
My ceiling is 9' to the peak. My clamps are off the floor 18". It is plenty for any coon I catch and I am sure we have the same or similar sized coon. I also skin coyotes by using a rope with a loop in it to shorten the coyote. LLL


"Opportunity is missed by most because it is dressed in waders and looks like work." Thomas Edison (except for the waders part)
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490548
03/14/19 09:33 AM
03/14/19 09:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
Skip the vise grips and use a single cable slip noose. Build a sturdy hook on the base of your skinner. Then place the cable loop around the whole hide and then bend down and place the other loop over the hook. If you run out of head space just lower the coon and move the cable loop up higher on the skin.

In my opinion these vise grips set ups are way over rated. No welding and very little cost In building a few slip nooses.

I have 10 of these cable slip noose's built. I open 10 coon place a slip noose on each one and get to pulling. The hide pulling noose Is about 5" when fully opened. I also have the same set up for the hind legs. But of coarse these nooses are smaller.


The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: The Beav] #6490558
03/14/19 09:46 AM
03/14/19 09:46 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
I
IACoonTrapper Offline OP
trapper
IACoonTrapper  Offline OP
trapper
I

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
Originally Posted by The Beav
Skip the vise grips and use a single cable slip noose. Build a sturdy hook on the base of your skinner. Then place the cable loop around the whole hide and then bend down and place the other loop over the hook. If you run out of head space just lower the coon and move the cable loop up higher on the skin.

In my opinion these vise grips set ups are way over rated. No welding and very little cost In building a few slip nooses.

I have 10 of these cable slip noose's built. I open 10 coon place a slip noose on each one and get to pulling. The hide pulling noose Is about 5" when fully opened. I also have the same set up for the hind legs. But of coarse these nooses are smaller.

Sounds like a quick way to do it, but does the cable ever hurt the hides?

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: LLtrapper] #6490564
03/14/19 09:51 AM
03/14/19 09:51 AM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,309
Suffolk new york
M
Miley Offline
trapper
Miley  Offline
trapper
M

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,309
Suffolk new york
Originally Posted by LLtrapper
My ceiling is 9' to the peak. My clamps are off the floor 18". It is plenty for any coon I catch and I am sure we have the same or similar sized coon. I also skin coyotes by using a rope with a loop in it to shorten the coyote. LLL

Im working with a 9 ceiling as well. My top hanger for the winch ,just about touches the ceiling. Im not home to look but I think my clamps are closer to 14-15 off the floor. Its ADC s lower unit (lol ) so you can check his page for the dimension. All I do is raccoon and only had a couple BIG coon that required a new clamp purchase due to running out of room. Youll be fine with 9.

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490718
03/14/19 12:21 PM
03/14/19 12:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
Doesn't even leave a mark.


The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6490940
03/14/19 05:35 PM
03/14/19 05:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
Y
yukonal Offline
trapper
yukonal  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
Originally Posted by IACoonTrapper
yukonal, that sounds like an idea. Do you happen have any pictures of it?


I do, but I'm afflicted by the same "picture to large to post" disease as a bunch of other guys here.

And, I skin a couple 35# plus coon every year on my 7' table.

If guys would try a horizontal skinner, a lot of them would never go back to upright. Can't tell you how convenient they are. whistle

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491008
03/14/19 07:02 PM
03/14/19 07:02 PM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 2,219
Iowa
C
coydog2 Offline
trapper
coydog2  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 2,219
Iowa
How would you make a horizontal skinner?


Life member of DAV,NTA,NRA,ITA.Also member of FTA,CBA
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491015
03/14/19 07:06 PM
03/14/19 07:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
I have built both kinds. Both have there good and bad points.

But with a horizontal all you need Is a work bench. Just mount your winch on one end and a place to hook up the hide or the legs on the other end. 7' would be plenty since you can just keep re hooking the hide.

Cost one winch.


The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: The Beav] #6491141
03/14/19 08:47 PM
03/14/19 08:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,778
Iowa
~ADC~ Offline
The Count
~ADC~  Offline
The Count

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,778
Iowa
Originally Posted by The Beav
... In my opinion these vise grips set ups are way over rated.





Yep they suck. laugh

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491178
03/14/19 09:20 PM
03/14/19 09:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
To each his own.
By using the cable you can choke up on more hide and save on skinner height. And of coarse It's cheaper
and If you can't weld or don't have the equipment It's simpler.

Nothing wrong with your set up but there are several ways to skin a coon.

Could you have found a smaller coon to make this flick? LOL

And I never said they suck I said they were over rated. LOL

Last edited by The Beav; 03/14/19 09:25 PM.

The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: The Beav] #6491202
03/14/19 09:45 PM
03/14/19 09:45 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,778
Iowa
~ADC~ Offline
The Count
~ADC~  Offline
The Count

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,778
Iowa
Originally Posted by The Beav
To each his own.
By using the cable you can choke up on more hide and save on skinner height. And of coarse It's cheaper
and If you can't weld or don't have the equipment It's simpler.

Nothing wrong with your set up but there are several ways to skin a coon.

Could you have found a smaller coon to make this flick? LOL

And I never said they suck I said they were over rated. LOL


That's a big coon beav. I make any coons look small. lol

Here's a couple big cold monsters for you...



No one has time to play with that cable and stuff, that's for old men and girls. laugh


Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491543
03/15/19 10:44 AM
03/15/19 10:44 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,895
South metro, MN
C
Calvin Offline
trapper
Calvin  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,895
South metro, MN
The distance from my floor to the bottom of my gambrel is exactly 8Ft. I have never needed to re hook a MN coon. I use ADCs base system and wouldn't use anything else personally. If you really needed more pull, you could cut the base down a bit, but as said, won't be a need for any coon you get at 8ft, floor to gambrel distance.


The insane are running the asylum.
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491560
03/15/19 11:10 AM
03/15/19 11:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
Y
yukonal Offline
trapper
yukonal  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
[Linked Image]

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491565
03/15/19 11:12 AM
03/15/19 11:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
Y
yukonal Offline
trapper
yukonal  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
[Linked Image]

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: yukonal] #6491573
03/15/19 11:28 AM
03/15/19 11:28 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
I
IACoonTrapper Offline OP
trapper
IACoonTrapper  Offline OP
trapper
I

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 10
Iowa
Originally Posted by yukonal
[Linked Image]

Thanks for the pictures! That's a good idea and seems really easy to move around. One of these days I'll see what I can rig up.

Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491577
03/15/19 11:34 AM
03/15/19 11:34 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,322
Pottawatamie co. IA
LLtrapper Offline
"The Coon Combine"
LLtrapper  Offline
"The Coon Combine"

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,322
Pottawatamie co. IA
Wow that takes up a lot of space laying out like that. What happens to all the blood and dirt? How do you make cuts on the opposite side of the animal? Mine swivels. LLL


"Opportunity is missed by most because it is dressed in waders and looks like work." Thomas Edison (except for the waders part)
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491679
03/15/19 03:01 PM
03/15/19 03:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
T
The Beav Offline
trapper
The Beav  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 16,434
Wisconsin
Nice set up.
When I built mine I had the winch built up off the bench at about 6" and the same with the leg hook ups. There Is no need to be able to completely flip the critter a half a turn Is all you need.

If you have no head room It's the perfect system and your not spending $400.00 for some skinner.


The forum Know It All according to Muskrat
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: LLtrapper] #6491689
03/15/19 03:26 PM
03/15/19 03:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
Y
yukonal Offline
trapper
yukonal  Offline
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 912
MN
Originally Posted by LLtrapper
Wow that takes up a lot of space laying out like that. What happens to all the blood and dirt? How do you make cuts on the opposite side of the animal? Mine swivels. LLL


Blood and dirt gets wiped off with a paper towel after each animal. Wood bed is poly'ed, so it just wipes off easily. I skin back up, so no need to turn. The animal will spin while it's hooked up. Spike thru the arms, and all cuts can be made hooked up with the back up, and belly down.

Really doesn't take up any more space than any other system, as it also serves as the work bench, and is my entire skinning/fleshing/boarding work station. All my skinning, hide prep tools stay on the same bench/table. And all stretching/put up uses the same work station. I flesh right beside it, so just set my knife and other stuff on same table, while I'm fleshing.

Crazy easy to use, and never need to bend over, or look up to skin. And...no blood from the animal rolling down the hide.

Last edited by yukonal; 03/15/19 03:28 PM.
Re: Coon skinning machine height? [Re: IACoonTrapper] #6491690
03/15/19 03:28 PM
03/15/19 03:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,895
South metro, MN
C
Calvin Offline
trapper
Calvin  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,895
South metro, MN
Yeah, I wouldn't have room for that horizontal skinner, either. And I sure like the rotating base on ADCs.
But to each his own. Whatever works for a guy.


The insane are running the asylum.
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread