No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum~ Fermenter's Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Minnesota Trapline Products
Please support our sponsor for the Trappers Talk Page - Minnesota Trapline Products


Print Thread
Hop To
Setting Chain and Cable Stakes #6683164
12/04/19 03:18 PM
12/04/19 03:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,091
MN
Y
yukonal Offline OP
trapper
yukonal  Offline OP
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,091
MN
Seriously, how important do you guys think it is, to manually pull up on, to "set" a cable or chain stake?

I threw my back out last week, setting one (and I don't go crazy when I do because of back issues). When I told a buddy about it, he said "I just let the coyotes set them for me". That makes a lot of sense to me.

Really, when a coyote...or whatever canine starts pulling on, and fighting the trap, isn't the stake going to get set anyway? Can any of you guys give an example of when failure to "set" a stake caused an animal to pull the whole rig out of the ground?

From now on, I'll "set" the stakes in loose sandy soil...just to make sure, but I don't really see the need to set the stake in clay or heavier soils.

Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683167
12/04/19 03:22 PM
12/04/19 03:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 254
Wisconsin
L
Lance Squires Offline
trapper
Lance Squires  Offline
trapper
L

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 254
Wisconsin
I have often wondered that same thing but set them just to make sure they'll hold.


50 years trapping and hopefully another 50 still to come. OK, let's hope for 15 more.
Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683168
12/04/19 03:23 PM
12/04/19 03:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 131
Indiana
H
Hunter23 Offline
trapper
Hunter23  Offline
trapper
H

Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 131
Indiana
I had an end drive off this year, new (wolf fang). If i didn't set it , i'd never have known. Set them stakes or loose the trap and animal.

Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683170
12/04/19 03:25 PM
12/04/19 03:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 446
Wyoming
T
thedude055 Offline
trapper
thedude055  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 446
Wyoming
I think this one really depends on the area you are trapping. I set some of mine to make sure i found good ground. We have a good amount of dry sand here with a hard layer of clay at varying depths. If i set an anchor 12"'s and it goes in pretty easy i check to make sure it is not just sand. 12" in sand and they just pull out too easy for me to trust. Now if i am driving them and I have to get the big hammer i clip my trap on and roll. No need to test if i have a hernia or not.


2019 to date 20 Coon (2 released), 11 Muskrat, 3 cottontails, 1 Beaver, 4 Skunk, 1 Mink, 1 Coyote
Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683171
12/04/19 03:26 PM
12/04/19 03:26 PM
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 4,155
carolina, Alabama
The Possum Man Offline
trapper
The Possum Man  Offline
trapper

Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 4,155
carolina, Alabama
I only set them when the ground is questionably soft. I can tell when i drive in the pilot hole. I have never had one fail...yet. Ive had them almost dug up and some pulled out a little further than i like but not fail. I drive my anchor totally underground so if i set them i have a tag end to deal with when bedding so i only set them when i question the integrity of the dirt.


"If you're gonna be stupid you better be tough"
Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683174
12/04/19 03:28 PM
12/04/19 03:28 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 76
Pennsylvania
T
Tim64 Offline
trapper
Tim64  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 76
Pennsylvania
1 in a hundred will pull out when you set them. If you don't mind those odds, don't set them.

Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683190
12/04/19 03:50 PM
12/04/19 03:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 19,973
Central, SD
Law Dog Offline
trapper
Law Dog  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 19,973
Central, SD
Have yet to set a fang never had one pull out yet I cut an run to save my back and yes drivers bend in frozen ground.


Was born in a Big City Will die in the Country OK with that!

Jerry Herbst
Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683207
12/04/19 04:00 PM
12/04/19 04:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,091
MN
Y
yukonal Offline OP
trapper
yukonal  Offline OP
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,091
MN
I'm using both MB Chain Stakes, and Wolf Fangs on 1/8" cable. The only thing that ever even moves, is if I'm on one of my farms that has "looser" sand...then I can feel the stake set...after it drifts up a bit. Even the firm sand farms are hard enough, you can't hardly get a stake to set. And the hard soil farms...well, I can't get the stake end to turn, no matter how hard I pull.

Sometimes I wonder if I shouldn't just go back to cross staking. Sure easier to pull, when it's time. shocked

Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683213
12/04/19 04:08 PM
12/04/19 04:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 19,973
Central, SD
Law Dog Offline
trapper
Law Dog  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 19,973
Central, SD
Not much for rocks here but just getting the driver out is sometimes a challenge. The weld on tip weld spot is even harder to pull.


Was born in a Big City Will die in the Country OK with that!

Jerry Herbst
Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683226
12/04/19 04:19 PM
12/04/19 04:19 PM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 2,792
Sagle, ID
Wild_Idaho Offline
trapper
Wild_Idaho  Offline
trapper

Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 2,792
Sagle, ID
Like others have said two different times this season I have lost the ends of wolf fangs I assume because they cable is getting sheared off on rocks in the ground. if I hadn't have pulled up to set it the next animal that stepped in that trap would have taken the Trap and whole thing with them still on their foot


Real name = Eric
The sharpest hammer in the box of crayons.

Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683257
12/04/19 04:50 PM
12/04/19 04:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 4,094
montana
R
red mt Offline
trapper
red mt  Offline
trapper
R

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 4,094
montana
Al all I do is take trap in my hand give it a little slack and pop the chain couple times to make sure I did not shear of the stake end good to go.
Note get below the frozen ground or it will not set well .


Kenneth schoening
Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: Wild_Idaho] #6683264
12/04/19 05:03 PM
12/04/19 05:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 1,639
Kansas
P
Pawnee Offline
trapper
Pawnee  Offline
trapper
P

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 1,639
Kansas
Originally Posted by Wild_Idaho
Like others have said two different times this season I have lost the ends of wolf fangs I assume because they cable is getting sheared off on rocks in the ground. if I hadn't have pulled up to set it the next animal that stepped in that trap would have taken the Trap and whole thing with them still on their foot


Same here except it was a super stake with a welded S hook. Gave it a good pull and the next thing I knew I was landing on my butt! First one Iíve ever used so my confidence is a bit shaken.


Hal is my Hero
Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683271
12/04/19 05:09 PM
12/04/19 05:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 8,681
Georgia
warrior Offline
trapper
warrior  Offline
trapper

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 8,681
Georgia
While all y'all are right about stakes in good ground I can't in good conscience not make a set without making sure or making sure on all remakes. But I'm slightly anal about some things.

Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683294
12/04/19 05:29 PM
12/04/19 05:29 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 19,973
Central, SD
Law Dog Offline
trapper
Law Dog  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 19,973
Central, SD
I drove stakes in places that looked like a J when I pulled them I remember driving a stake in Missouri was like settled by a gravel pit hammer it in and either pull it right out of leave it there. Here until the hard Frost sets in the range work the best.


Was born in a Big City Will die in the Country OK with that!

Jerry Herbst
Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: Law Dog] #6683462
12/04/19 07:56 PM
12/04/19 07:56 PM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 78
KANSAS
R
redhillstrapper Offline
trapper
redhillstrapper  Offline
trapper
R

Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 78
KANSAS
Originally Posted by Law Dog
I drove stakes in places that looked like a J when I pulled them I remember driving a stake in Missouri was like settled by a gravel pit hammer it in and either pull it right out of leave it there. Here until the hard Frost sets in the range work the best.

That's why I had to switch to the super stakes ends. Our ground is hard enough 1 in 4 would just bend in a J around the driver, then driver and all was stuck.

Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: red mt] #6683668
12/04/19 11:52 PM
12/04/19 11:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,091
MN
Y
yukonal Offline OP
trapper
yukonal  Offline OP
trapper
Y

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,091
MN
Originally Posted by red mt
Al all I do is take trap in my hand give it a little slack and pop the chain couple times to make sure I did not shear of the stake end good to go.
Note get below the frozen ground or it will not set well .


I like that idea, Ken. It's either gonna pop out...or stay put.

Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683918
12/05/19 09:49 AM
12/05/19 09:49 AM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 446
Wyoming
T
thedude055 Offline
trapper
thedude055  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 446
Wyoming
Something else to think on a side note for this. a lot of folks don't pull cable stakes to set just because they do not want to have the cable end poking around their set. I switched partially to chained fangs this year. I will never use cable stakes again really. I can put the anchor at any depth and then just deal with a little bit of chain. so much easier to work with. For those in harder ground i assume the super stakes are the same with chains. no fraying or cut cables on rocks and no poking in the air crap.


2019 to date 20 Coon (2 released), 11 Muskrat, 3 cottontails, 1 Beaver, 4 Skunk, 1 Mink, 1 Coyote
Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6683994
12/05/19 11:22 AM
12/05/19 11:22 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 212
Indiana
F
fishnhunts Offline
trapper
fishnhunts  Offline
trapper
F

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 212
Indiana
The first year i used them, i thought i would just let the coyotes set them for me. Everything worked out but when i was pulling sets, one that i hadn't connected on pulled right out and didn't set at all. I check them all now.

Re: Setting Chain and Cable Stakes [Re: yukonal] #6684036
12/05/19 12:21 PM
12/05/19 12:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 2,473
Michigan
D
Ditchdiver Offline
trapper
Ditchdiver  Offline
trapper
D

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 2,473
Michigan
I set every stake I put in the ground. Two seconds and a quick pull is worth knowing that I'm not gonna lose my trap and catch.


When life gets me down..... you know hunting/trapping season is closed.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread