No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting~The Pen and Quill

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum~ Fermenter's Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Minnesota Trapline Products
Please support our sponsor for the Trappers Talk Page - Minnesota Trapline Products


Joe Goodman Prints
Please support Joe Goodman because he supports us with donations

Print Thread
Hop To
Choke pole- Can I make one? #7343559
08/30/21 05:33 PM
08/30/21 05:33 PM
Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 47
NC
S
SpellNC9 Offline OP
trapper
SpellNC9  Offline OP
trapper
S

Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 47
NC
I was wondering if I can make a choke pole instead of buying one? Any thoughts?

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343562
08/30/21 05:39 PM
08/30/21 05:39 PM
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 181
ontario
K
k9-hunter Offline
trapper
k9-hunter  Offline
trapper
K

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 181
ontario
all you need is some 3/4 or 1 inch pipe in whatever length desired,some clothes line

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343569
08/30/21 05:43 PM
08/30/21 05:43 PM
Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 2,660
Indiana
P
Providence Farm Offline
trapper
Providence Farm  Offline
trapper
P

Joined: Feb 2020
Posts: 2,660
Indiana
Yes, if one person can do so can another.

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343600
08/30/21 06:07 PM
08/30/21 06:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,359
Wisconsin
G
Green Bay Offline
trapper
Green Bay  Offline
trapper
G

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,359
Wisconsin
Of course you can but.... I think a Ketch All pole is one of the best investments I have ever made. Almost 100% confidence in that.

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343640
08/30/21 06:40 PM
08/30/21 06:40 PM
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 2,880
West Central MN
20scout Offline
trapper
20scout  Offline
trapper

Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 2,880
West Central MN
Very inexpensive and easy to make as long as your not trying to release lion or wolf.


Common sense is a not a vegetable that does well in everyone's garden.
Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343661
08/30/21 07:04 PM
08/30/21 07:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 220
KY
L
learch Offline
trapper
learch  Offline
trapper
L

Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 220
KY
I used 1” or so conduit. I cut mine a couple inches less than the width of my atv, about 40”. I got some rubber coated cable, pretty heavy stuff but I don’t know the exact diameter. Bought a clothes line tensioner and epoxied it into the he end of the conduit.’put a feral on one end to f the cable, smash the open end of the conduit to the feral then loop the cable up though the conduit and through the tensioner. Cut the cable to the proper length and add some type of handle. I used an old weed wacker pull string handle.

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343690
08/30/21 07:22 PM
08/30/21 07:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2017
Posts: 4,577
perry co.Pa
wetdog Offline
trapper
wetdog  Offline
trapper

Joined: Oct 2017
Posts: 4,577
perry co.Pa
I use this in the end of 1" I/D electrical conduet.
[Linked Image]
Works for me

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343741
08/30/21 08:11 PM
08/30/21 08:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 47
NC
S
SpellNC9 Offline OP
trapper
SpellNC9  Offline OP
trapper
S

Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 47
NC
how does the clothes line tensioner work? never used one

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343798
08/30/21 08:58 PM
08/30/21 08:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 90
Fargo, ND
S
schmattz Offline
trapper
schmattz  Offline
trapper
S

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 90
Fargo, ND
You certainly can. Check out MY YouTube channel in my signature below or Schmattz Outdoors on YouTube. Two videos ago I showed how I built my own. Worked really well on about 35 Coyotes last season and I will be using it again with no changes.

Here is the link to my video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=siIskJN1qrc

Schmattz

Last edited by schmattz; 08/31/21 06:45 PM. Reason: Added video link

My YouTube Channel: Schmattz Outdoors
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKRcUUVdsl1Po-CQ5zc4hTw

Trapping goals:
Stay Dry
Don't catch myself!!!

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343804
08/30/21 09:04 PM
08/30/21 09:04 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 33,665
james bay frontierOnt.
B
Boco Offline
trapper
Boco  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 33,665
james bay frontierOnt.
You have a snare in your pocket?
99.9% of the fur I catch is dispatched at the set,but if I need to make a catch pole no problem.
If you're dealing with live animals all the time,might just want to buy one.

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: Boco] #7343813
08/30/21 09:09 PM
08/30/21 09:09 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 630
PA
M
Marathon Offline
trapper
Marathon  Offline
trapper
M

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 630
PA

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7343929
08/31/21 12:42 AM
08/31/21 12:42 AM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 11,854
Iowa
~ADC~ Offline
The Count
~ADC~  Offline
The Count

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 11,854
Iowa
I've made them like this for years. They are no Death Ray for dispatching though they do the trick and they aren't Katch-All poles for releasing animals, but they have never let me down for that either. I don't trust the clothes line tensioners, they do fail eventually.

Originally Posted by ~ADC~
I’ll try to describe the one I built… I took a 5-foot piece of metal conduit about 1 inch OD. Then I took a hacksaw and holding the conduit up and down I sawed a notch in the end about 1 ˝” deep and wide enough for a small chain link to fit in it. Then I got a 6 foot piece of chain (small dog chain) and a 2’ piece of 1/8" cable. I attached one end of the cable to one end of the chain by running it through the last chain link and using a 1/4" nut mashed on the cable. Then using a drill, drill a small hole through the side of the conduit 1” from the opposite end you cut the notches in. run the other end of the cable through this hole and use a single ferrule to attach the cable to this hole. Then drop the chain back through the conduit. This will leave a cable loop at one end and the chain sticking out the other end of the conduit. To catch the animal, put the loop over the animals neck pull the chain and hook it in the notch on the back of the pole. To release them pull the chain out of the notch and let it slip back through the conduit.

This little cheap pole is great for releasing small critters you don’t want to kill.

I’m sure that’s all clear as mud. Here are some pictures....
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Here it is in action releasing an otter...

[Linked Image]

~ADC~

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7344579
08/31/21 06:48 PM
08/31/21 06:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 90
Fargo, ND
S
schmattz Offline
trapper
schmattz  Offline
trapper
S

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 90
Fargo, ND
The difference between ADC's pole (which I like how simple it is) and mine is that mine is a true choke pole not a catch pole. I would make one like ADC's if I wanted a catch pole.

I added the link to my video in my post above.

Schmattz


My YouTube Channel: Schmattz Outdoors
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKRcUUVdsl1Po-CQ5zc4hTw

Trapping goals:
Stay Dry
Don't catch myself!!!

Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7344597
08/31/21 07:08 PM
08/31/21 07:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,345
S.W.Oregon
newhouse114 Offline
trapper
newhouse114  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,345
S.W.Oregon
I make mine with heavy 1.5 inch PVC pipe. Unlike most folks, I need something that a cougar won’t twist into knots!


Life Member NTA & FTA
"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain

http://alaskastoneanivory.com/index
Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7344610
08/31/21 07:18 PM
08/31/21 07:18 PM
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 384
North West Iwoa
C
Coyote Clayton Offline
trapper
Coyote Clayton  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 384
North West Iwoa
I made one based off ADC's about the time he posted the original. I used 3/4 galvanized and used an end cap to screw on the end. Used it for years. Did the double walled pvc thing for a few years before I went with the metal rod going all the way down the shaft. Still have it. And my coyote tongs.


When The Man Comes Around
Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7344654
08/31/21 08:11 PM
08/31/21 08:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 6,854
Firth, Nebraska
jabNE Offline
trapper
jabNE  Offline
trapper

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 6,854
Firth, Nebraska
Mine self-identifies as a release pole, not as a choke pole. grin


Money cannot buy you happiness, but it can buy you a trapping license and that's pretty close.
Re: Choke pole- Can I make one? [Re: SpellNC9] #7346300
09/02/21 08:01 PM
09/02/21 08:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 407
Nebraska
N
NEtrapper. Offline
trapper
NEtrapper.  Offline
trapper
N

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 407
Nebraska
Seen this post the other day and gave me an idea and motivation to dig the welder out and build something on a rainy day off. Will give it a workout this season and see how it works. Might build a shorter one as well.


[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread