No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers *** No Politics
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting~The Pen and Quill

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum~ Fermenter's Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Minnesota Trapline Products
Please support our sponsor for the Trappers Talk Page - Minnesota Trapline Products


Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355625
09/14/21 04:51 PM
09/14/21 04:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 126
MO
D
Dstone1992 Offline
trapper
Dstone1992  Offline
trapper
D

Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 126
MO
Yuk! 100 precent should be in conduit! Hire an ibew electrician and you won't be disappointed. If one of my fellow ibew brothers or sisters installed that I would have them boarded! Asking to get a person or dog killed.

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355633
09/14/21 04:58 PM
09/14/21 04:58 PM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 7,655
Ky
J
jbyrd63 Offline
trapper
jbyrd63  Offline
trapper
J

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 7,655
Ky
It will involve pulling the meters and running the wires in conduit/ pvc pipe. Plus if that wire feeds each meter then it's not big enough . 4/0 3 wire plus a ground would be a lot bigger than that coming from a meter to a panel.
Oh yea where is the ground wire?

Last edited by jbyrd63; 09/14/21 05:03 PM.
Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355637
09/14/21 05:01 PM
09/14/21 05:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 7,655
Ky
J
jbyrd63 Offline
trapper
jbyrd63  Offline
trapper
J

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 7,655
Ky
Originally Posted by Canvasback2
[Linked Image]


That looks like wire feeding an outside heat pump rather than a meter base.

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355668
09/14/21 05:37 PM
09/14/21 05:37 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 1,174
Saucier, Mississippi Harrison ...
T
turkn8rtrapper Offline
trapper
turkn8rtrapper  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 1,174
Saucier, Mississippi Harrison ...
I think you are actually wanting the amperage that is traveling through them. That is where a good electrician and a load calculation for both service panels comes in. Your local code department will have the code requirements for the 100 amp service panels.


"Skin that smokewagon and see what happens"
Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355669
09/14/21 05:38 PM
09/14/21 05:38 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 675
IL
I
ILcooner Offline
trapper
ILcooner  Offline
trapper
I

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 675
IL
"220, 221, whatever it takes"

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355670
09/14/21 05:39 PM
09/14/21 05:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 675
IL
I
ILcooner Offline
trapper
ILcooner  Offline
trapper
I

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 675
IL
Originally Posted by Canvasback2
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]


that looks sketchy AF. Get a pro in there....youre in over your head mate

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: jbyrd63] #7355671
09/14/21 05:40 PM
09/14/21 05:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 675
IL
I
ILcooner Offline
trapper
ILcooner  Offline
trapper
I

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 675
IL
THIS!

Originally Posted by jbyrd63
You need more than new wires!!!!! That is a disaster waiting to happen. Plus I'm confused you keep saying upper and lower panel. You got different service for a basement ? Better hang on that's not an easy NOR cheap fix. Wires are breaking down from the sun because THEY AREN'T supposed to be in the sun !!!!

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355678
09/14/21 05:45 PM
09/14/21 05:45 PM
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 255
herkimer cty.new york
T
trapper red 315 Offline
trapper
trapper red 315  Offline
trapper
T

Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 255
herkimer cty.new york
National Grid
NYSEG
Or
Rochester gas and electric,
Perhaps another provider?

Depending on local codes, the service cables may or may not be required to be enclosed,
Inspectors will have a say as well.
Hired a licensed electrician from your area and have it done right.

This is a 2 unit apartment?

I have 2 service entrances, 1 for main house, the other for family member unit
Both services are on my house, with entrance cables in conduit, but not below the meters
Inspector recommend it that way.


I do not recognize the biden/harris administration as legal


18 speeds on 18 wheels
Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: loosegoose] #7355679
09/14/21 05:47 PM
09/14/21 05:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 675
IL
I
ILcooner Offline
trapper
ILcooner  Offline
trapper
I

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 675
IL
Originally Posted by loosegoose
How big are those? Those look like old cloth covered Romex.


Yep, this is one of the worst amateur hour jobs I have seen in a while. No way this is legal or up to code in NY.

Last edited by ILcooner; 09/14/21 05:47 PM.
Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355708
09/14/21 06:27 PM
09/14/21 06:27 PM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,050
Ne pa
J
Jerry Jr. Offline
trapper
Jerry Jr.  Offline
trapper
J

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,050
Ne pa
In order to replace those wires you are going to have to have your electric service provider pull the meter so you can replace the wires. You could pull it yourself, but, you will need to get them to replace the tag on the meter box. My guess is they will require an inspection before they will ok it. Something to look into, Does your electrical work have to be done by a licensed person? Possible not, but, you will likely have to have it inspected. You could pull it, replace the wires and have them put their tag back on it with little problems. Unless the place burns down and your insurance company discovers that it was not up to code. Then they deny the claim.

To me, it looks like you are only running 110 to each of your panels. Hence the 100 amp breakers.

This does not appear to be an emergency. I would look into your local codes. Find out what needs to be done. Do the work and have it inspected if need be.


You can't buy experience, but you'll pay for it.
.... but what do I know, I'm just a dumb farmer. ~ My Dad.
NRA LIFE MEMBER, Endowment Member 5-23-14
Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355775
09/14/21 07:51 PM
09/14/21 07:51 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 291
Lakes Region Indiana
L
loosanarrow Offline
trapper
loosanarrow  Offline
trapper
L

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 291
Lakes Region Indiana
Im a qualified electrician, as im sure others who have posted answers are. And we all knew the moment we read your initial post question that you have no business attempting to do this yourself. Listen to us - you donít understand the basics. Dont do it. Get someone who knows why your question illustrates your ignorance to do it. Might sound mean, but its not, its honesty and trying to help you stay alive and keep you from causing yourself a world of trouble. Donít mess with this, you are in over your head mate!

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355803
09/14/21 08:18 PM
09/14/21 08:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,775
Asheville, NC
C
charles Offline
trapper
charles  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,775
Asheville, NC
Be concerned with the amps when sizing wire.

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355805
09/14/21 08:19 PM
09/14/21 08:19 PM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 9,109
Northeast Oklahoma
M
Mike in A-town Offline
trapper
Mike in A-town  Offline
trapper
M

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 9,109
Northeast Oklahoma
Older service entrance conductors were often ran stapled to the side of the house just like that... But conduit is the way to go.

I would need to see the system from the meter to both panels to give you an accurate estimate of all that is needed.

And any info I gave you may be null and void depending on your local inspector, if you have one.

200 amp service is the basic standard for most homes these days. That means 2/0 copper or 4/0 aluminum.

Mike


One man with a gun may control 100 others who have none.

Vladimir Lenin
Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355807
09/14/21 08:20 PM
09/14/21 08:20 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
iowa
B
b line Offline
trapper
b line  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
iowa
240 volts phase to phase 120 phase to ground.

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355862
09/14/21 09:17 PM
09/14/21 09:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 3,031
NY
Canvasback2 Offline OP
trapper
Canvasback2  Offline OP
trapper

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 3,031
NY
Getting 3 estimates tomorrow from REAL Electricians. House was built in 1870, so who knows when those 2 outside service lines were installed. Got two 100 Amp circuit breaker boxes in the Basement 100 Amps for the lower unit and 100 Amps for the upper unit. When we bought the house years ago, there was just two 60 Amp fuse boxes in the Basement. (Three 20 Amp fuses in each fuse box.) When we ungraded the electric, we went with 100 Amp circuit Breaker panels. Didn't need 200 Amps for each unit.

"In over my head" That is why I am getting three estimates !! Electric and me DON'T MIX !! eek

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7355882
09/14/21 09:28 PM
09/14/21 09:28 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 291
Lakes Region Indiana
L
loosanarrow Offline
trapper
loosanarrow  Offline
trapper
L

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 291
Lakes Region Indiana
On a more conciliatory note canvas, I understand the DiY way of life. Many times I have learned my way through something, and it has been fine. Unfortunately electrical is not something you can safely and reasonably do that with. You made the right move.
I do think a real electrician could guide you through the process, and with maybe a couple of hours of qualified help you could do the job. The work itself isnít too difficult, but the knowledge of how and why and what not to do is essential in this case.
Good luck!

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7356021
09/14/21 11:52 PM
09/14/21 11:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 8,409
Armpit, ak
D
Dirt Offline
trapper
Dirt  Offline
trapper
D

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 8,409
Armpit, ak
If you blow the fuse on your transformer, your volts will be zero along with some of your neighbors. smile

Meter will spin really fast for second too. smile


Who is John Galt?
Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7356101
09/15/21 06:58 AM
09/15/21 06:58 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,580
Ohio, 52yrs old
Pasadena Offline
trapper
Pasadena  Offline
trapper

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,580
Ohio, 52yrs old
Pretty confused by a lot of the comments. Itís SEU Cable folks. Thatís the way itís mainly ran in residential applications, and as far as asking where the ground is. Well Iím not going to go into that.


[Linked Image]


Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Canvasback2] #7356129
09/15/21 07:53 AM
09/15/21 07:53 AM
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,080
East Texas
B
BTLowry Offline
trapper
BTLowry  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,080
East Texas
Electrocution waiting to happen there

Get a pro to at least come out and give you an estimate, then you will have an idea of how it needs to be done and what materials you need.

Re: Electricians: How many volts run through this? [Re: Pasadena] #7356151
09/15/21 08:46 AM
09/15/21 08:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,306
Arizona
YamaCat Offline
trapper
YamaCat  Offline
trapper

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,306
Arizona
Originally Posted by Pasadena
Pretty confused by a lot of the comments. Itís SEU Cable folks. Thatís the way itís mainly ran in residential applications, and as far as asking where the ground is. Well Iím not going to go into that.


Thank you, Pasadena. If it were me and in a pinch, I would cover up that sheath with a good garden hose or a split conduit and call it good. Iím sure the conductors and ground are just fine.

Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread