No Profanity *** No Flaming *** No Advertising *** No Anti Trappers ***NO POLITICS
No Non-Target Catches *** No Links to Anti-trapping Sites *** No Avoiding Profanity Filter


Home~Trap Talk~ADC Forum~Trap Shed~Wilderness Trapping~International Trappers~Fur Handling

Auction Forum~Trapper Tips~Links~Gallery~Basic Sets~Convention Calendar~Chat~ Trap Collecting Forum

Trapper's Humor~Strictly Trapping~Fur Buyers Directory~Mugshots~Fur Sale Directory~Wildcrafting~The Pen and Quill

Trapper's Tales~Words From The Past~Legends~Archives~Kids Forum~Lure Formulators Forum~ Fermenter's Forum


~~~ Dobbins' Products Catalog ~~~


Minnesota Trapline Products
Please support our sponsor for the Trappers Talk Page - Minnesota Trapline Products


Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Well Pump Pressure Switch? #7675217
09/20/22 12:03 PM
09/20/22 12:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,678
Wisconsin
E
Eagleye Online content OP
trapper
Eagleye  Online Content OP
trapper
E

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,678
Wisconsin
The well doesn’t appear to be short-cycling (pump is not running) but the pressure switch is rapidly engaging and disengaging (“clicking”). I used some emery cloth to clean the contact points but still does it when water is running and sometimes without. If it was short cycling, I would think pressure tank but I’m leaning toward a bad and/or faulty pressure switch. Any thoughts before I start the replace a part troubleshooting.

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675219
09/20/22 12:15 PM
09/20/22 12:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 14,787
Green County Wisconsin
G
GREENCOUNTYPETE Offline
trapper
GREENCOUNTYPETE  Offline
trapper
G

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 14,787
Green County Wisconsin
probably bad switch but first easy thing to check is your air bladder in the pressure tank holding air does it have a Schneider valve you can check with a tire gauge ?


Last edited by GREENCOUNTYPETE; 09/20/22 12:17 PM.

America only has one issue, we have a Responsibility crisis and everything else stems from it.
Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675222
09/20/22 12:19 PM
09/20/22 12:19 PM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3,179
Southern Illinois
F
Foxpaw Offline
trapper
Foxpaw  Offline
trapper
F

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 3,179
Southern Illinois
Sometimes if your tank don't have air in it then it is water logged, in which case you need to get some air in it. Usually for me its mud gets in the diaphragm on the switch. I have taken them apart and clean it up without tearing the diaphragm. I mount a new copper line on the switch and make it long enough to mount it up above everything else so the sediment goes somewhere other than settling in the switch.

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: GREENCOUNTYPETE] #7675233
09/20/22 12:28 PM
09/20/22 12:28 PM
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,482
Ne pa
J
Jerry Jr. Offline
trapper
Jerry Jr.  Offline
trapper
J

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 1,482
Ne pa
Yes, check the bladder. You can adjust the pressure switch for your top end and low end. If this just started I would be suspect of the bladder or switch. You should have a good bit of air in your bladder. If you do not, you will have cycling. If I understand you, it sounds like it is your switch since it is not turning on the pump. Pressure switches are easy and cheap to replace. I would check the bladder and then replace the switch.


Time is more precious than gold if you know how to spend it
.... but what do I know, I'm just a dumb farmer.~My Dad
NRA LIFE MEMBER, Endowment Member
Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675242
09/20/22 12:43 PM
09/20/22 12:43 PM
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 7,102
West Michigan
G
Getting There Offline
trapper
Getting There  Offline
trapper
G

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 7,102
West Michigan
Depending how old your system is you may not have a bladder in your tank, you may need to drain your take and refill. JMO


To Old
U.S. Army 60-63 SGT.
Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675286
09/20/22 02:07 PM
09/20/22 02:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,678
Wisconsin
E
Eagleye Online content OP
trapper
Eagleye  Online Content OP
trapper
E

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,678
Wisconsin
I first checked the PSI in the pressure tank and it's @ 60psi and the tank is about 4 years old. Could be the pressure switch- for $29.00 a good place to start.

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675293
09/20/22 02:14 PM
09/20/22 02:14 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,372
Ohio, Old fart to some.
ack Offline
trapper
ack  Offline
trapper

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,372
Ohio, Old fart to some.
Contacts will sometimes chatter. Really tough to file them flat enough. Turn off the owner and inspect. If their pitted ya might as well replace.


_________

I used to have superpowers… but a therapist took them away.

The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!
Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675303
09/20/22 02:26 PM
09/20/22 02:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,339
meadowview, Virginia
E
EdP Offline
trapper
EdP  Offline
trapper
E

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,339
meadowview, Virginia
When I was on well water I kept a spare pressure switch on hand and needed it every few years.

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: EdP] #7675306
09/20/22 02:33 PM
09/20/22 02:33 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,899
Nebraska
Trapset Offline
trapper
Trapset  Offline
trapper

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,899
Nebraska
Originally Posted by EdP
When I was on well water I kept a spare pressure switch on hand and needed it every few years.


Yup, still do here.

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675308
09/20/22 02:39 PM
09/20/22 02:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,551
Pa
W
Wright Brothers Offline
trapper
Wright Brothers  Offline
trapper
W

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,551
Pa
I like foxpaws reply of high mpunting the switch.
I get that, thanks.





Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675309
09/20/22 02:42 PM
09/20/22 02:42 PM
Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 5,858
MB
J
Jurassic Park Offline
trapper
Jurassic Park  Offline
trapper
J

Joined: Sep 2016
Posts: 5,858
MB
Originally Posted by Eagleye
I first checked the PSI in the pressure tank and it's @ 60psi and the tank is about 4 years old. Could be the pressure switch- for $29.00 a good place to start.


Did you empty the water from the tank before you checked the psi?


Cold as ice!
Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675327
09/20/22 03:30 PM
09/20/22 03:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 746
U.P. Michigan
Spade Offline
trapper
Spade  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 746
U.P. Michigan
Originally Posted by Eagleye
I first checked the PSI in the pressure tank and it's @ 60psi and the tank is about 4 years old. Could be the pressure switch- for $29.00 a good place to start.


That sounds like you didn't empty the tank before checking your PSI, it should be set for 2-4 lbs under your cut on pressure. If you have a 30/50 pressure switch your tank should have 28 lbs of pressure in it when empty.

Last edited by Spade; 09/20/22 03:33 PM.

24 years Army Medical Corps

I only want to be known as:

A great husband, a good trapper, and a great steward of the land.
Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675359
09/20/22 04:32 PM
09/20/22 04:32 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,678
Wisconsin
E
Eagleye Online content OP
trapper
Eagleye  Online Content OP
trapper
E

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,678
Wisconsin
I first emptied the tank and the pre-charge was at 30 lbs.- I have an inline pressure gauge that shows 60 PSI and the Schrader valve on the pressure tank also shows 60 PSI.

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675419
09/20/22 06:22 PM
09/20/22 06:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,232
Oregon
H
H2ORat Offline
trapper
H2ORat  Offline
trapper
H

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,232
Oregon
Sounds like your tank is Ok - change the switch -- also check the small diameter piping going to the switch as I have had some funny things happen when it is plugged or partieally plugged

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675493
09/20/22 08:07 PM
09/20/22 08:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 2,328
North central Iowa
B
Bob_Iowa Offline
trapper
Bob_Iowa  Offline
trapper
B

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 2,328
North central Iowa
Sounds like a switch, otherwise you’d see the pressure dropping on your gauge if that’s happening you have bigger problems, when we had all the steers we would go through a switch a year from the pump cycling so much.

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675521
09/20/22 08:42 PM
09/20/22 08:42 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,616
Coldspring Texas
Savell Offline
"Wilbur"
Savell  Offline
"Wilbur"

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,616
Coldspring Texas
... been my experience contact points usually stick and you have no water... constant cycling is waterlogged.. let us know what it ends up being... good luck to you


Insert profound nonsense here
Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675803
09/21/22 08:59 AM
09/21/22 08:59 AM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,678
Wisconsin
E
Eagleye Online content OP
trapper
Eagleye  Online Content OP
trapper
E

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,678
Wisconsin
Follow-Up:
Always appreciate everyone taking the time to give input- it was the Pressure Switch... on to the next disaster smile

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7675811
09/21/22 09:14 AM
09/21/22 09:14 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 11,075
Oakland, MS
Drifter Offline
trapper
Drifter  Offline
trapper

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 11,075
Oakland, MS
Good got it solved and answered back as well.


“For history does not long entrust the care of freedom to the weak or the timid.” , and
“A people that values its privileges above its principles soon loses both.”

Dwight D. Eisenhower









Life member NTA , and GA Trappers assoc .
Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Drifter] #7675885
09/21/22 11:21 AM
09/21/22 11:21 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,987
SEPA
L
Lugnut Offline
trapper
Lugnut  Offline
trapper
L

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,987
SEPA
Originally Posted by Drifter
Good got it solved and answered back as well.


X 2


Eh...wot?

Re: Well Pump Pressure Switch? [Re: Eagleye] #7676000
09/21/22 01:40 PM
09/21/22 01:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 9,369
Asheville, NC
C
charles Offline
trapper
charles  Offline
trapper
C

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 9,369
Asheville, NC
Had a problem with ants getting between the contacts of an irrigation pump. Always in fall. They would also get into my AC units.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread