Home

First time fleshing- how am I doing?

Posted By: Nodak63

First time fleshing- how am I doing? - 02/07/18 06:13 PM

Finally got all set up and am trying my hand at putting up fur. Watched a lot of videos and read a lot on here. I think it’s going alright, the pelt I started with was rolled up and frozen, when I uthawed it the face was pretty dry, but the pelt seems good and the fat is pushing like I think it’s supposed to. Seems like the membrane/fat layer didn’t get started till about half way down, is that normal? The face was to dry to really flesh does that matter? I’ve attached a few pics (hopefully) any advice or thoughts on how it looks?
How do I post a picture from an iPad?
Posted By: Traps R Us

Re: First time fleshing- how am I doing? - 02/07/18 06:23 PM

pictures would be helpful. The files can only be a certain size, so try saving them a bit smaller.
what you describe sounds normal.
I am not the best guy giving lot's of advice on this topic, as it is my first year too with putting up my own fur, it's a lot of work and sometimes you can make it harder than it has to be. But it is very rewarding. I do not flesh the face either.
I think we need to remember it's not rocket science what we're trying to do here! smile

Cheers
Posted By: BearCave1

Re: First time fleshing- how am I doing? - 02/07/18 06:26 PM

What species are you working on?
Posted By: Trapset

Re: First time fleshing- how am I doing? - 02/07/18 06:26 PM

What kind of critter are you fleshing?

Also, I like to fold the face of all critters inside the hide when freezing. Keeps the face from drying out while in the freezer and while thawing with fan on them. Most if not all faces require little or no fleshing but when they dry out it can cost length on the board and doesn't have a "clean" look.

Re: First time fleshing- how am I doing? - 02/07/18 06:27 PM

Coyote, I’m trying to get s few pics posted....

Re: First time fleshing- how am I doing? - 02/07/18 06:50 PM