Home

Which MB’s to get for coyote

Posted By: payotetrapper

Which MB’s to get for coyote - 09/05/18 04:42 AM

I’ve never used the MB traps before. I’m looking into buying a dozen this year. What would be the best size, specifically for coyote, maybe bobcat in future. Also to get offset or not? I was thinking about the 550 offset. Thanks for help
Posted By: pass-thru

Re: Which MB’s to get for coyote - 09/05/18 05:12 AM

550's work better in a mixed line IMO.....if you are only wanting coyotes and cats 650 is very good. Offset and cast.

550's are easier to release non-targets IMO.
Posted By: tjm

Re: Which MB’s to get for coyote - 09/05/18 06:40 AM

I'd go with the 550. imo, the best designed MB trap.
Posted By: Calvin

Re: Which MB’s to get for coyote - 09/05/18 08:06 AM

I have 550s and 650s Cs. 650s are a lot better for coyotes, IMO

But to each his own.
Posted By: Btoutdoors

Re: Which MB’s to get for coyote - 09/05/18 12:29 PM

I have both and prefer the 550 personally. Both are great traps I just feel the 550's are easier and quicker to set. Never had a problem holding a coyote in either.
Posted By: cpizzicharlie

Re: Which MB’s to get for coyote - 09/05/18 12:43 PM

As stated the 550 and the 650 are great coyote traps, if you have some fox the 550 would be a good choice.
Posted By: eastwood44mag

Re: Which MB’s to get for coyote - 09/05/18 01:04 PM

I run both. Prefer the 550. Much easier to set and bed. The biggest problem I have with the 650 is the 1/4" offset--coon pulled out last season. Indiana requires offset of 1/8" if your trap has a spread over 5.75" and some claim the 550 does between the posts (haven't measured, didn't want traps for different states).