Home

Gun question?

Posted By: harrison72

Gun question? - 10/14/18 09:51 PM

Ok,my 9.5 year old daughter is wanting to go deer hunting. I have 30+ years deer hunting experience and I am MORE than happy to take her! I have a .308, muzzleloader and a gob of shotguns - none of which I feel is a good choice for her,so here's the question:
Which has less recoil, .44 mag or .243? Range is not an issue, what do you think?
Posted By: Chevy30290

Re: Gun question? - 10/14/18 09:58 PM

I assume you are talking a 44 in a rifle, the 243 will have less recoil. You could get reduced recoil loads for your 308 and I bet she would be fine with those.
Posted By: harrison72

Re: Gun question? - 10/14/18 10:06 PM

Yes,in a rifle, good idea with reduced recoil loads.
Posted By: Osky

Re: Gun question? - 10/14/18 10:08 PM

Maybe a slimline muzzle break on the .308? That will make it more than comfortable for her to shoot. Up here to get one matching finish, installed, runs around 180.00.

Osky
Posted By: squacks

Re: Gun question? - 10/14/18 10:10 PM

My friend raised 2 young daughters that hunt. When they started, the hunt was on to find a rifle that they could handle. They tried all the ones their family members owned just to see how they could handle the recoil. I loaned them a 20 ga. A5 Browning to try. Those girls opted for the A5. They also killed their first deer with it.
I do see youngsters who take deer with AR style rifles with reduced loads. That may work.
Posted By: 52Carl

Re: Gun question? - 10/14/18 10:34 PM

First and foremost is choose a gun which fits her. If the stock is too long, she won't be able to get a good cheek plant and will be punished regardless of the round.
Posted By: charles

Re: Gun question? - 10/15/18 12:28 AM