Home

Muskrat Trapping in Ditches

Posted By: Siegs

Muskrat Trapping in Ditches - 11/19/18 02:50 AM

I am new to Muskrat trapping this year and have been muskrat trapping in a small pond. There is a ditch behind this property I am trapping. I believe their are muskrat in there. Is there and signs I can look for and if so how should I trap a ditch? Thank you.
PS. The ditch is very steep and is about 6-8 across in length. Some parts narrow and some parts open up. Also how should I go about trapping their for Mink? Thanks again!
Posted By: Ditchdiver

Re: Muskrat Trapping in Ditches - 11/19/18 03:34 AM

Pocket sets will catch rats, mink and coon. Look for rat toilets, bank dens, feed beds, trails under overhanging grass, etc.
Posted By: Ditchdiver

Re: Muskrat Trapping in Ditches - 11/19/18 03:47 AM

Also (for mink), look for dry trails up on the banks. They FREQUENT the water but spend a lot of time on dry land too.
Posted By: Kart29

Re: Muskrat Trapping in Ditches - 11/19/18 12:29 PM

Those ditches can be really tough to trap. There is quite a bit of silt in the bottom of many of them and they can be very difficult to walk along. Sometimes the sides of the ditch are so steep you can barely climb up and down them.

The overhanging grass makes the bank dens pretty difficult to find and they can be hard to set also. I have the best luck setting 220 body grips in narrow spots in the stream. If the stream isn't naturally that narrow you can make your own narrow funnels on the stream using sticks, brush, or even wire fencing. It won't be long before the rats swimming the stream are accustomed to going through the narrow spots in the ditch. Colony traps might be effective in those locations also.