Home

Coyote problem

Posted By: Buck77

Coyote problem - 12/19/18 08:42 PM

Two days in a row I have had pullouts in Duke and Montana #3. Both of these traps look the same and I usually don't use them for this reason but I ran out of my MB's so I had to set a few of them. What can I do to help stop this. Four coil or new springs? I also lost two traps because they pulled my wolf fang right out the ground, I have never had this happen before, and it makes me want to go back to rebar.
Posted By: Snowpa

Re: Coyote problem - 12/19/18 08:49 PM

I use some Duke 1.5 and don't have pullouts .No its not my go to trap . As far as wolf fangs if they are in the ground 15 inches re rod wont help
Posted By: Trapper Dahlgren

Re: Coyote problem - 12/19/18 08:52 PM

I have never had a coyote pull out of my duke 3 ,I have been using them only for three or four years do you have enough pan tension so you get good foot catch don't know of anything else ,maybe not stable enough is trap bedded good ,hope you have better luck soon
Posted By: MEATWAGGON

Re: Coyote problem - 12/19/18 08:56 PM

Could be coincidence. May just be bad luck that you had a couple toe catches that they managed to get out of. I'm like you, my MB550's are my go to, but i also run my Duke #2 squared offset jaws, some 2 some 4 coil. I much rather my MB's, but my Dukes hold just as good, so i don't think that's your problem. What type of set are you running?
Posted By: late bite

Re: Coyote problem - 12/19/18 09:01 PM

is it deer pulling out?
Posted By: HFT AK

Re: Coyote problem - 12/19/18 09:04 PM