Home

Quad won't start in cold. Updated.

Posted By: Animals Only

Quad won't start in cold. Updated. - 02/19/19 12:02 AM

I have a 2002 can am bombader outlander that refuses to start at 20 degrees or colder. Anyone have any suggestions pn what the problem is? It starts and runs fine in warm weather.
Posted By: Boco

Re: Quad won't start in cold weather. Help. - 02/19/19 12:05 AM

Did you put winter oil in the crankcase?Does it have a primer?
Posted By: AntiGov

Re: Quad won't start in cold weather. Help. - 02/19/19 12:44 AM

Shot of starting fluid sometimes helps
Posted By: M.Magis

Re: Quad won't start in cold weather. Help. - 02/19/19 12:55 AM

Probably need more info. Does it not crank? Crank but not fire? Carb or fuel injected?

Re: Quad won't start in cold weather. Help. - 02/19/19 12:56 AM

It ran in December. Turns over fine. Has a new battery. Fluids were changed in the spring. Has a new spark plug. Does it have a coil? It just seems like it won't fire.
Posted By: gutthooked

Re: Quad won't start in cold weather. Help. - 02/19/19 01:18 AM

Can you choke the engine when it's cold out?
Posted By: DGorman

Re: Quad won't start in cold weather. Help. - 02/19/19 01:40 AM

A little searching leads me to believe this model is carbuereted and has a factory carb heater. When it's cold turn the key on and wait a few minutes for the heater to work. Put the choke on, don't touch the throttle, hit the starter and see what happens.
Posted By: Grub

Re: Quad won't start in cold weather. Help. - 02/19/19 01:56 AM

Had same thing just happen. Wouldn't start except with a shot of starting fluid. Once I got it running put some carb cleaner through it and bought the high octane gas and ran it for an hour pushing snow and no problem since. Was told when that cold any moisture in the carbs from sitting and freezing up will cause this problem.
Posted By: stumper

Re: Quad won't start in cold weather. Help. - 02/19/19 02:16 AM

Originally Posted by DGorman