Home

Sourkraut recipe?

Posted By: NE Wildlife

Sourkraut recipe? - 03/14/19 03:18 AM

Anyone have a easy sourkrout recipe they could share?
Thanks
Posted By: Nessmuck

Re: Sourkraut recipe? - 03/14/19 03:19 AM

Iam watching this thread....
Posted By: KeithC

Re: Sourkraut recipe? - 03/14/19 03:23 AM

Me too. Last month, I inherited a 10 gallon crock from my Grandfather.

Keith
Posted By: Pike River

Re: Sourkraut recipe? - 03/14/19 03:24 AM

I've been using this for 20 years.

Its simpler then the recipe makes it seem.

g74 p. 20
Surprising Sauerkraut

A German cook explains a basic recipe for “raw” sauerkraut in a five-gallon container: “You will need a container of glass, porcelain, wood or earthenware (I use a plastic bucket and a plywood lid); but do not use a metal one. If you have a device for shredding vegetables, fine, but if not, cut each cabbage in half and then slice across the leaves, making about one-eighth-inch-wide cuts. In the bottom of your crock put a layer of shredded cabbage and then, using a pestle of some sort (something to press down the cabbage but not with sharp cutting edges on it), pack this down firmly, until you have about a four-inch layer. You can put into the crock a ruler or stick with every four inches marked off to know when you have the right amount for a layer.

“Now sprinkle a tablespoon of salt over the top of this layer. Proceed to pack down another four-inch layer and then sprinkle the top of this new layer with salt. Keep doing this until the container is nearly filled.