Home

crossbow question

Posted By: marathonman

crossbow question - 06/01/19 03:08 PM

Is a barrett crossbow an o.k. one to buy.Question comes from an out of state friend of mine..honestly the only thing I do know is make sure that one has a thumb guard..I do not have one myself nor have I ever shot one..not there yet.
Posted By: Whopper Stopper

Re: crossbow question - 06/01/19 03:13 PM

Barnett? If so for a low- mid priced bow they are ok

Pretty much a Ford- Chevy thing these days.

WS

Re: crossbow question - 06/01/19 03:19 PM

I stand correct I would say more than likely he means Barnett
Posted By: AnthonyT

Re: crossbow question - 06/01/19 04:12 PM

They are an OK xbow, but overall the quality of them is not what it use to be. I worked as an archery tech for quite a while and repaired more Barnetts than anything else. They eat strings and cables quickly due to the way they are designed. The Wicked Ridge line by Ten Point is a great line of xbows for the money. So is the Centerpoint Sniper - probably the best lower price range crossbow out there.
Posted By: honkerextreme

Re: crossbow question - 06/01/19 04:20 PM

I have the Droptine. I have shot several deer with it and as of now have had no problems. I used the string wax about every 5 shots and make sure the rail is lubed also. I like this crossbow
Posted By: coydog2

Re: crossbow question - 06/01/19 04:28 PM

I have a Barnett and a Ten Point. The only reason I got the Ten Point at the time was because my Barnett was stolen from my Ranger when my brother and I was looking for a buck I shot. The game warden show up with it on the same day I had went out to get the Ten Point. and the Barnett was damage by the one who stole it. But I got it fix now and sight back in.I same it for a back up now.
Posted By: alaska viking

Re: crossbow question - 06/01/19 04:31 PM

I have a Barnett Penetrator, wax the string, cable, and rails religiously, and have no problems.