Home

Hog trap

Posted By: Ark Trapper

Hog trap - 08/01/19 12:13 AM

Critique my set of the pic dosen't show up can someone help. Thankd.
Posted By: Boy Named Sue

Re: Hog trap - 08/01/19 02:35 AM

Posting these for AT.
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Re: Hog trap - 08/01/19 02:40 AM

Have you been prebaiting and monitoring your trap with a camera?
I would suggest a couple more posts at the door. The will stress that past of the trap the hardest.

Re: Hog trap - 08/01/19 02:46 AM

Thanh you so much for the help!!! I have all 3 doors wired open. I have the center door set up on a root type trigger my plan is to unwired the two out side doors tomorrow so they are working then on Friday I plan to unwired the center door. My hope is I will get most of the little ones in the trap before the root stick triggers. Then any larger hogs on the outside can still get in any of the three doors. Any suggestions this is my first attempt at this I happened on to a large litter on my brother's place last night I killed 3 piglets then I could heard the big one in the brush but could never see them
Posted By: KB64

Re: Hog trap - 08/01/19 02:50 AM

How tall are your panels ? Need to be 60" minimum. Watched a 200+ boar almost clear 60" panels.

Re: Hog trap - 08/01/19 02:51 AM

Just found them last night we built the trap today and baited it I put two cameras on the trap

Re: Hog trap - 08/01/19 03:03 AM

Yes they are 5' panels. Am I overthinking this w the extra trigger or will it help

Re: Hog trap - 08/01/19 03:07 AM

I have limited experience with the rooter trigger, and didn't have very good results when I tried it. One of the things I learned was that the hogs would go straight to some thing new and trigger the trap before many could enter.

I have sense built a control box to remotely trigger my traps and use a Spartan game camera to watch.

Re: Hog trap - 08/01/19 03:09 AM

I think one trigger is going to be enough.

Re: Hog trap - 08/01/19 03:09 PM