Home

My thoughts on the Second Amendment.

Posted By: KeithC

My thoughts on the Second Amendment. - 08/07/19 08:10 AM

The Second Amendment to the US Constitution states, "A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed."

The fact that the right to bear arms is listed second shows it's importance to the founders of our country.  It's brevity shows that our founders did not want the Second Amendment to be open to interpretation and thought that its intent was obvious to all.

At least 11, of my many great grandfathers fought in the War for American Independence.  At least 2 more, who were Quakers, donated sizable amounts of money to the US militias.  At least 1, of my many great grandfathers did regrettably fight for our British oppressors. They were not soldiers by trade, except in one instance. They were brave men, who stepped up and did what was best for their families.

The word that people, who are against our Second Amendment rights like to interpret, to twist our founders' meaning is "militia". They like to pretend "militia", means an official military branch of the government. "Militia" refers to the citizens of the US, who did and who will again, if necessary, join together to fight a tyrannical government.

For the free citizens of the US to be able to join together and remove a tyrannical government, in any age, they need to possess military grade weapons of the time.

Freedom is not free. There will always be sick and evil individuals who will harm others, with whatever they can. Taking the rights away from lawful gun owners, will not stop those sick and evil individuals. Fortunately, by in large, most people are good and there are brave individuals in our police forces and military, who along with legally armed US Citizens, will limit the damage done by criminals.

Keith
Posted By: 4zebra61

Re: My thoughts on the Second Amendment. - 08/07/19 10:39 AM