Home

Duolingo

Posted By: jk

Duolingo - 10/20/19 12:14 AM

Anyone studying a foreign language on this web site?......jk
Posted By: DelawareRob

Re: Duolingo - 10/20/19 12:16 AM

Yup.

Spanish, French, Italian, Russian and German.

Main focus is Spanish though.
Posted By: Dewey S

Re: Duolingo - 10/20/19 12:57 AM

I have been using it for a few years to study Spanish. I'm pretty good at reading Spanish but I still have a hard time understanding a Spanish speaker and carrying on a conversation.
Posted By: DelawareRob

Re: Duolingo - 10/20/19 01:08 AM

Originally Posted by Dewey S
I have been using it for a few years to study Spanish. I'm pretty good at reading Spanish but I still have a hard time understanding a Spanish speaker and carrying on a conversation.

I listen to Spanish radio on my way to work, it seems to help. I still have trouble with confidence in having an actual conversation. But, I’ve learned that they are also bilingual and understand that learning a second language is hard and they usually speak slower if they know you have an interest and are trying to learn, it is a two way street.
Posted By: snowy

Re: Duolingo - 10/20/19 01:54 AM

I have started Spanish a few times but have never followed through for the long haul. I can understand some and get what they are talking about but not good at speaking it.

I have enjoyed learning it during the long winter months.

Re: Duolingo - 10/20/19 12:50 PM

I have been on this for two years they just told me. After a little gooph off timein Japan in the late 60s. So I thought what the heck, I am studying japanese = it is different to say the least. What do all those icons mean, ligots and emeral something etc? I earn things and do not know what they are good for. Do they ever answer a question?.......jk
Posted By: Getting There

Re: Duolingo - 10/20/19 01:34 PM

I think you have to have a very good understanding of how our American language is made up with all the parts of a sentences etc JMO