Home

Miter saw recommendations

Posted By: goldnut

Miter saw recommendations - 12/04/19 07:43 PM

My son in law would like one for Christmas. He just needs one for home use not for a job or anything. I am thinking a slide miter type but would like to hear what you guys have and like. Thanks Ken
Posted By: btomlin

Re: Miter saw recommendations - 12/04/19 07:53 PM

I bought a craftsman slider $200ish about 10yrs ago. I've used it on all of my trim and even used to cut all my deck boards. Buddy used it for his deck boards also. I can't begin to think about all the other stuff. I'd buy another in a heartbeat. I've really liked my slider. If I was a contractor, I would have bought a better one, but can't complain with the use I have gotten. It owes me nothing.
Posted By: Cooncreek II

Re: Miter saw recommendations - 12/04/19 08:20 PM

I have a Dewalt sliding compound miter box. Use it all the time, I would buy another but don't think I'll ever need to.
Posted By: thedude055

Re: Miter saw recommendations - 12/04/19 08:28 PM

I recently upgraded to a big Kobalt double bevel laser sliding compound miter saw. Probably had three or four more things in the name really. It is a turd. Had troubles with the switch on it numerous times been sent back and got it back with a new switch with the same issue as the old one. Now the switch does not work at all and you need to plug and in plug it to use it. Super nice.
Posted By: charles

Re: Miter saw recommendations - 12/04/19 08:57 PM

Get him the stand as well, if he has room.
Posted By: l1ranger

Re: Miter saw recommendations - 12/04/19 09:00 PM

i've had an hitachi for about 5 years - used a bunch around the house for projects with no issues
Posted By: Bill from NJ

Re: Miter saw recommendations - 12/04/19 09:01 PM

My wife pushed me into Purchasing a DeWalt Double-Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw a few years ago.

I have used it to cut everything from Crown molding, base boards, trim of all sizes and styles.