Home

Compass

Posted By: concrete man

Compass - 01/12/20 04:14 PM

Need to get a new any recommendations .
Posted By: Bruce T

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 04:18 PM

I like using a simple compass that goes on your wrist like a wrist watch.
Posted By: white17

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 04:21 PM

I've been using the same Silva Ranger since 1970. Prefer the azimuth over the quadrant style

EDIT: mine is a model 15T made in Sweden. They are no longer distributed in the US. You might find one on Ebay. The newer ones with the Silva name are all made in Indonesia and are not near the quality of the originals
Posted By: Lugnut

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 04:30 PM

I use a Silva Explorer.
Posted By: concrete man

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 04:38 PM

Lost mine don't what brand it was I'll check those out garmin is nice but batteries run out . thanks

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 04:43 PM

I know for a fact that I would NEVER depend on anything that runs on batteries for navigation
Posted By: Squash

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 04:43 PM

Silva ranger, guaranteed for life.
Posted By: bctomcat

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 04:53 PM

Silva Ranger for me also.
Posted By: Marty

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 04:54 PM

Cammenga wrist compass is a very convenient option.
Posted By: Buck (Zandra)

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 05:08 PM

Tru-nord
Posted By: GREENCOUNTYPETE

Re: Compass - 01/12/20 06:40 PM

it depends on what your use is

I can see where the watch type would be very handy or something that could band round your arm I tried the pin on type that are a ball , didn't really car for it , it was slow and not very accurate.

I use mason twine and make a lanyard for my compasses it hangs around my neck an older sylva explorer but they have changed the names so much it looks more like a current Field model