Home

Dry land beaver set

Posted By: Rockfarmer

Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 05:25 PM

Need help. Beaver wreaking havoc on my place and the neighbors. I have zero experience trying to trap them. Can I catch them with bridger 330's on dry land? Thinking of trying to set by trees they are chewing and any slides I can identify. Any and all help and advice is appreciated.

Re: Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 05:26 PM

and the bridgers are offset.
Posted By: Drifter

Re: Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 05:35 PM

Hate to sound like a Game Warden but check your regulations. The water archives has a ton of how to on beaver as well.Basic sets
Posted By: FairbanksLS

Re: Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 05:35 PM

You need to check your trapping regs. Never seen an offset 330. I doubt they'd sell very well. laugh

Re: Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 05:39 PM

sorry #3's . And I will check regs
Posted By: backroadsarcher

Re: Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 05:44 PM

do they have channels in the water where they come to dry land?
Posted By: Wild_Idaho

Re: Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 05:47 PM

I set an otter toilet that was a ways back and up higher than the river and guarded the entrance slide with a 220 and then set the toilet with a Victor #4. A beaver of all things hit the toilet, got caught in the Victor #4 and set off the 220 but didn't get caught in it.

[Linked Image]

Re: Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 05:51 PM

We have a big creek that borders us on the west and north sides. That's where they are coming from. Banks on my side are 15-20 feet tall and extremely steep. They are hitting trees 20- 40 yards up on the land.
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 06:34 PM

If snares are legal in MO I would be acquiring some of those.
Posted By: waggler

Re: Dry land beaver set - 01/26/20 06:41 PM

There is no need to, nor should you intentionally set a foothold on dry land for a beaver, that is very likely to result in a wring-off.