Home

can a presidential canidate get dropped

Posted By: foxkidd44

can a presidential canidate get dropped - 04/23/20 12:18 PM

can a presidential candidate get dropped at their convention? democrat/republican, even if he /she won all the delegates in the primaries? i'm not an expert on things like that....but been seeing rumours that joe might get whacked at the convention and that Andrew cumuo could get the nod....is this possible? please don't turn this into a sideshow guys....I would like to come back to see intelligent replies instead of seeing this post got the axe.
Posted By: elkaholic

Re: can a presidential canidate get dropped - 04/23/20 12:39 PM

Yes. If I'm not mistaken basically Bernie had the last democratic nomination pretty well wrapped up, but they went with Hillary.

I don't know about the legalities of it with a person who wasn't on the ballot at all though.
Posted By: concrete man

Re: can a presidential canidate get dropped - 04/23/20 12:39 PM

Yes likely anyone know the democrats don't care about the voters Clinton won last time instead of sanders
Posted By: SNIPERBBB

Re: can a presidential canidate get dropped - 04/23/20 12:40 PM

I'm sure each party has mechanisms to drop a candidate, or choose a replacement in case of incapacitation
Posted By: Diggerman

Re: can a presidential canidate get dropped - 04/23/20 12:44 PM

I don't believe Primaries are legally binding. The democrat National committee is an independent organization and uses the primary as a "suggestion". ( I think)
Posted By: loosegoose

Re: can a presidential canidate get dropped - 04/23/20 01:05 PM

I believe a party can choose whoever it wants as a candidate. The primaries are just to give them an idea of who the people want.
Posted By: TurkeyTime

Re: can a presidential canidate get dropped - 04/23/20 01:06 PM

They can go with whomever they want. This Coronavirus is saving Biden as I unbiasedly think the guy has dementia, Alzheimer's, or something.