Home

Lumber cutting bandsaw question

Posted By: AKAjust

Lumber cutting bandsaw question - 07/05/20 12:47 PM

I've several power poles cut in 9" lengths.
We are trying to make 1" boards from them.
Out of 5 poles I have only 2 fairly true 1" boards.
The others are either thicker than 1" or thinner the worst one measures 1" on the stare end and 11/2 .on the other. A quarter inch difference is common and I can maybe deal with that.
I'm wanting to use them for a floor in a shop.
I've no experience with big band saws.
Its not a nail problem.

Any help is appreciated.
just
Posted By: logger coffey

Re: Lumber cutting bandsaw question - 07/05/20 12:54 PM

Have sawed for years, but would not touch a power pole myself . , sounds like its eating your blade set . your into some very tough stuff . they make carbide toothed blades ,but pricey my opinion its your only hope.
Posted By: Knappett

Re: Lumber cutting bandsaw question - 07/05/20 01:05 PM

I have a mill with a 28 foot table and the only time I get any variation in thickness is if I use a dull blade. If the table or rail system is flat my cut is straight. Also check the band tension too but sounds like a dull blade. With the engine shut off run your thumbnail over the tooth of the blade lightly and if it dosnt scratch your nail it's toooo dull
Posted By: Gulo

Re: Lumber cutting bandsaw question - 07/05/20 01:17 PM

Just -

I'm pretty much in agreement with logger coffey and Knappett. One, either your bandsaw blade is dull or the tension is too loose, or Two, your rails are not trued up or are not stable.

Jack
Posted By: logger coffey

Re: Lumber cutting bandsaw question - 07/05/20 01:34 PM

I will just add i have heared the older poles that are creosoted, was very abrasive.
Posted By: oneeyedtrapper

Re: Lumber cutting bandsaw question - 07/05/20 02:17 PM

What type of sawmill?

I've never seen a dull blade make "thick & thin" lumber before - just wavy lumber.
Posted By: Scuba1