Home

Auto mechanics?

Posted By: Tommie

Auto mechanics? - 07/29/20 11:27 PM

Is there any auto mechanics on here not shade tree someone that does it for a living? I’m looking for how much it would be to replace a starter and a flywheel on a 2011 Ford F-150. Just got mine back from the shop and couldn’t believe the price it cost.
Posted By: Gary Benson

Re: Auto mechanics? - 07/29/20 11:35 PM

Ford dealership or mechanic shop?
Most dealership owners have spent time in prison for rape.

Re: Auto mechanics? - 07/29/20 11:48 PM

Was a personal shop I’ve used this guy for 30 years . He should be Spending time for rape after today.

Re: Auto mechanics? - 07/29/20 11:50 PM

It's a good gig. I graduated Tech School in 1975 and was working in a Ford dealership doing warranty work for 2.25 an hour. Times have changed.
Posted By: Cragar

Re: Auto mechanics? - 07/30/20 12:02 AM

Prices listed online run from $900-$1600 - just for the Flywheel R&R

However , 4wd costs more (if applicable)

HD components cost more if vehicle equipped with heavier transmission and a stronger clutch.

Did the clutch pack get replaced at the same time ? If the clutch is even a bit worn and not like brand new , I'd replace it if was my vehicle.

R&R the starter is extra to prices I seen online.
Posted By: Hydropillar

Re: Auto mechanics? - 07/30/20 12:04 AM

my guess 1,250 to 1500.... before you criticize find out if he had to lift the cab to get at the top bell housing bolts to split the tranny and transfer case from engine... some of them can be doozies!!
Posted By: sweetwilliam

Re: Auto mechanics? - 07/30/20 12:07 AM

Gotta pull the motor out to replace the flywheel?
Posted By: Bill from NJ

Re: Auto mechanics? - 07/30/20 12:09 AM

Tommy,

Tough question.
Too many variables.

You need to look at your bill. The Parts cost (Flywheel, starter motor, fluids)
Labor Time involved. Dealer or private garage. Shop labor cost times how many hours involved.