Home

Are these oyster mushrooms?

Posted By: Fur trapping

Are these oyster mushrooms? - 08/13/20 12:39 AM

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
If so what is the best way to persevere. I would like to try some and if i like i would like to use to cook with.
Posted By: Hodagtrapper

Re: Are these oyster mushrooms? - 08/13/20 12:42 AM

Looks like oyster mushrooms. Do they smell like black licorice? I have had good luck dehydrating them and also blanching for three minutes in hot water then pat dry and vacuum bag freeze.

Chris
Posted By: GREENCOUNTYPETE

Re: Are these oyster mushrooms? - 08/13/20 12:43 AM

look like , but I am no expert on shrooms , I put the plugs in the logs and am getting mushrooms that look just like that. just picked them today not sure what I am doing with them yet.
Posted By: Jonnytrapper

Re: Are these oyster mushrooms? - 08/13/20 12:45 AM

What kind of tree is that? They usually grow on poplar trees. Looks like oysters but I always encourage people to do their own research. Slice them 1/8" thick and dehydrate to preserve or fry them in butter.
Posted By: ~ADC~

Re: Are these oyster mushrooms? - 08/13/20 12:48 AM

Yes they are oysters 100%. I'd eat those any day. I have many times. They look to be perfect and fresh.

Re: Are these oyster mushrooms? - 08/13/20 12:49 AM

Originally Posted by Jonnytrapper
What kind of tree is that? They usually grow on poplar trees.

They grow on Elm, Willow, Box Elder, and several others around here. Willow is most common for those white ones in my area.
Posted By: Coon Duke

Re: Are these oyster mushrooms? - 08/13/20 12:50 AM

They grow on dead ash here. I picked some the other day.
Posted By: Matt28

Re: Are these oyster mushrooms? - 08/13/20 12:57 AM

I dehydrate them but the young fresh ones are the best the older ones are kinda tough. I like to Sautee in butter when fresh.
Posted By: Jonesie

Re: Are these oyster mushrooms? - 08/13/20 01:09 AM