Home

synthetic oil ?

Posted By: scrapper

synthetic oil ? - 10/09/20 11:52 PM

The wife's Subaru crosstrek is due for it's first oil change. I have never used synthetic oil before. Is any one brand of synthetic oil better than the other for small 4 cylinders? What about the oil filter for this oil? Thanks.
Posted By: gutthooked

Re: synthetic oil ? - 10/09/20 11:57 PM

Mobil 1 is pretty good so is pennzoil ultra platinum. I run the napa platinum filters after the factory warranty runs out.
Posted By: Gary Benson

Re: synthetic oil ? - 10/10/20 12:00 AM

I'm a firm believer in synthetic oil. I mowed the whole yard with a mower that had no oil in it after I drained the synthetic out of it and forgot about it.
NAPA synthetic has worked well for me for 25 yrs. No need to waste money on the expensive stuff.
Posted By: 20scout

Re: synthetic oil ? - 10/10/20 12:05 AM

I use Mobil 1 on all my stuff. Worst case scenario, you can just change your filter and top off the oil, but wouldn't do that very often.
Posted By: Sprung & Rusty

Re: synthetic oil ? - 10/10/20 12:10 AM

They're all good. Project Farm on YouTube has a video that he tests a bunch. Watch it. Good stuff.
Posted By: robert.d12

Re: synthetic oil ? - 10/10/20 12:11 AM

If it’s under warranty use what Subaru recommends. That will likely be a OEM filter they might have their own branded oil.
Posted By: akntrpr

Re: synthetic oil ? - 10/10/20 12:12 AM

Synthetic is good stuff! I bought a new corvette in 01' and if you put regular oil in it it would void the warranty! It came with a video showing the differences and it made a lot of sense. It recommended mobil 1 I put it in everything I own including my small engines and my inboard jet boat with never an issue. I highly recommend it!
Posted By: LDW

Re: synthetic oil ? - 10/10/20 01:02 AM

I'm a firm believer in synthetic oil. Run it in everything from my 3 pickups to mower, weed eater, buggy. Anything with an internal combustion engine.
Posted By: midlander