Home

Bob Marshall Wilderness

Posted By: JoMiBru

Bob Marshall Wilderness - 10/11/20 01:39 AM

Anyone spend much time on the Bob? Interested in the possibility of a DIY archery elk hunt in the area. Any info is appreciated!

Thanks

John
Posted By: cmcf

Re: Bob Marshall Wilderness - 10/11/20 02:05 AM

Rent horses! If you don’t have any, it’s a big place. Clean camp and bear pole. Bear deterrent also get in the best shape of your life and have fun and be careful large wilderness areas are not very forgiving of stupidity. NOT saying you are! But a lot of people think they know what they really don’t. If you could or have done a pack trip with an outfitter it would shorten the learning curve a huge amount. I worked as a guide/horse & mule wrangler as a young man out of Gardner Mt. Absorca Beartooth wilderness . We packed from the trail head in 21 miles to base camp then about three miles more to spike camps spread to the points of the compass. Early rifle elk and deer. If the mountains don’t kill ya and the bears leave ya alone and the stock don’t bust ya up ya could have the time of your life and make memories you will never forget. Truly wild country will humble a person.

Re: Bob Marshall Wilderness - 10/11/20 02:12 AM

If you’re planning on walking in just know you’re not going to get away from the locals and day trippers and the fringes get hunted pretty hard. And they know the country better than anybody that doesn’t live there.

Re: Bob Marshall Wilderness - 10/11/20 02:41 AM

Just a random thought. Grab a copy of Bugle and check with the outfitters that work the Bob maybe a drop camp would best suit your needs.
Posted By: Bear Tracker

Re: Bob Marshall Wilderness - 10/11/20 02:50 AM