Home

Any Lynx Experts here?

Posted By: rvsask

Any Lynx Experts here? - 12/27/20 09:36 PM

I’m seeing more Lynx sign this year than ever and was wondering if there were any Lynx experts with advice to give. I’ve tried a small bit with no luck using snare pens in the past. My son got a pretty big one a little while ago in a trail set for coyotes, now I want one of my own. I’d take any advice I can get. I set out a few fisher boxes today for something to do and snowmobiled over lynx tracks on every trail I was on.
Posted By: Boco

Re: Any Lynx Experts here? - 12/27/20 09:48 PM

I'm no expert,but I know a few and they all get plenty of lynx gang setting snares around a beaver carcass in the bush.
A good lure for lynx is a castor wrapped in a hayball and hung in a double ended snare pen,build right on their travelway.
Lynx are really easy to catch when they are plentiful and a snare is an extremely effective humane tool to use on lynx.
Posted By: yukon254

Re: Any Lynx Experts here? - 12/27/20 09:57 PM

Trail snares are one of my most productive sets. Just wall off your trail with brush but leave an opening where the lynx will pass through. Set your snare in that opening. [Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
Posted By: Leftlane

Re: Any Lynx Experts here? - 12/27/20 11:36 PM

Our southern cats seem to favor any set they can walk through as opposed to enter and then back out of. That being said, I know the guys up North catch a lot of their cats in cubbies so I always imagined when food is harder to come by and extra calories are needed they apparently will cooperate a little more.

If they are around, I would have a hard time believing they wont fall for a variety of sets. To me setting where a cat should come by seems to be the biggest factor in success and then they start gearing up to breed the big tom cats everyone wants can pop up anywhere.