Home

Powder information

Posted By: scalloper

Powder information - 01/10/21 02:11 PM

I have been reloading for 20+ years. I recently bought a mixed batch of powders from a good friends estate. I knew him very well. A lot of the powders were from the 70s like W296,W571, H414, SR 4756, Dupont PB, IMR 7625 and some others. I have (2) Hodgdon Annual Manuals that I normally reference but many of these are not listed.
Where can I find more information on these powders as in which cartridges each of these would be best for? I have several reloading manuals that I reference but to find all of these powders would take some time.
Posted By: cmj

Re: Powder information - 01/10/21 02:29 PM

Cant help you on where to find the info. Did you try to google each powder? The W296 is a magnum pistol powder. I just bought a 44mag and was looking up some of the powders that i can use for it and that was one.
Posted By: Scuba1

Re: Powder information - 01/10/21 02:59 PM

A very helpful thing to have is a burn rate chart. That way one can approximate what a powder can be used for and in what qualities. Then work up from there. Not worth doing if ya only have a pound of the stuff in most cases. But well worth it for larger quantities.
Posted By: GREENCOUNTYPETE

Re: Powder information - 01/10/21 03:14 PM

Originally Posted by scalloper
I have been reloading for 20+ years. I recently bought a mixed batch of powders from a good friends estate. I knew him very well. A lot of the powders were from the 70s like W296,W571, H414, SR 4756, Dupont PB, IMR 7625 and some others. I have (2) Hodgdon Annual Manuals that I normally reference but many of these are not listed.
Where can I find more information on these powders as in which cartridges each of these would be best for? I have several reloading manuals that I reference but to find all of these powders would take some time.

hodgdon has info on H414 and W296 in the reloading data center

W296 is magnum pistol powder