Home

Snow days

Posted By: Andrew Eastwood

Snow days - 01/15/21 01:16 PM

What in the world is going on with the school systems now days. Kids was all bundled up standing at the door waiting to see the bus coming down the road when the phone rang, no school due to road conditions. We got a whopping half inch of snow on the ground. I can understand if the roads are a foot deep, but this is ridiculous.
I can remember when I was a student, if not for drifting we never would have missed for snow days. The kids are telling me the drivers are always screaming about having to drive in anything other than dry conditions so maybe they just can't find competent drivers anymore.
Posted By: Finster

Re: Snow days - 01/15/21 01:23 PM

Originally Posted by Andrew Eastwood
What in the world is going on with the school systems now days. Kids was all bundled up standing at the door waiting to see the bus coming down the road when the phone rang, no school due to road conditions. We got a whopping half inch of snow on the ground. I can understand if the roads are a foot deep, but this is ridiculous.
I can remember when I was a student, if not for drifting we never would have missed for snow days. The kids are telling me the drivers are always screaming about having to drive in anything other than dry conditions so maybe they just can't find competent drivers anymore.

I think about this every time I get behind a school bus these days. When I went to school, we used to all gather in one spot for the bus. There would be 7 or 8 of us from the neighborhood and for most of us, it was about a 1/4 mile walk or more. These days, the bus stops in front of every house. I guess the indoctrination of entitlement begins even earlier than I assumed. Can't have the little darlings walk a block now can we.
Posted By: Bruce T

Re: Snow days - 01/15/21 01:27 PM