Home

I might be done with car repairs

Posted By: maintenanceguy

I might be done with car repairs - 03/23/21 03:50 AM

I'm 50. I'm new at being 50. So I decided to install a trailer hitch and trailer light conversion kit on my wife's car. The day started out okay. Remove some body trim pieces, lower the exhaust, wrestle the tow hitch in place, holding it up with one hand while struggling to get the bolts in with the other. Actually, the install went fairly well with few surprises.

But laying under the car, basically doing abdominal crunches for 3 hours really beat me up. My back, stomach muscles, hands, arms, and legs are keeping me awake. A hot shower didn't make much difference. Not looking forward to the next 20 years.
Posted By: Drifter

Re: I might be done with car repairs - 03/23/21 04:14 AM

LOL Just did struts on my 2002 Tundra and I am soon to be 69.
Posted By: GREENCOUNTYPETE

Re: I might be done with car repairs - 03/23/21 04:16 AM

when your not working on cars you need the wood work out.

oh man do I find muscles every time I start cutting trees or wrestling rounds on to the splitter for a few hours

I am a few years behind you , but I am starting to understand why my dad was slowing way down by the end of the day in his 40s while we were doing projects

dad is 23 years older than I am so I can remember doing projects with him 23 years ago and thinking gosh he is slowing down I had no idea how much 23 years was going to hurt , now he is like the bionic man in cost but not performance , new hip , new shoulder , fused neck , titainiam cage in his back

I am becoming more convinced the only answer is to never stop moving , that is how you tighten up and then it hurts more just keep moving till you take 4 ibuprofen and crash into bed , get up and do it again.
Posted By: 20scout

Re: I might be done with car repairs - 03/23/21 04:36 AM

Welcome to the golden years...

Re: I might be done with car repairs - 03/23/21 04:52 AM