Home

My 50 Cal Exploded - One lucky man!

Posted By: Finster

My 50 Cal Exploded - One lucky man! - 04/30/21 08:23 PM

This guy is really lucky he is still breathing.

Posted By: jbyrd63

Re: My 50 Cal Exploded - One lucky man! - 04/30/21 08:42 PM

Ok I'm no gun expert but to shoot a 50 CALIBER BREAK down with a screw in breech plug is asking for it !! Yes and he got it. God was with him but the flimsyness of that whole gun design looks to be unsafe to me. 100 bucks a round? that's just stupid. And for what ? To kill a fire hydrant? But he doesn't shoot one of those anymore !!!
Posted By: Cragar

Re: My 50 Cal Exploded - One lucky man! - 04/30/21 08:53 PM

He is super lucky to be breathing. Wild story.

Thanks for posting.
Posted By: GREENCOUNTYPETE

Re: My 50 Cal Exploded - One lucky man! - 04/30/21 09:16 PM

my son was showing me this yesterday he explains very clearly in his video

the saboted armor pericng rounds were a limited run , he thought them to be un tampered with

however there is some history of the 308 version of this type of saboted round having catastrophic failure when the sabot fails and the tungston carbide projectile hits the barrel.

this guy knew that he had a clear barrel

he had found the previous bullet fired in the target

the screw breach is actually quite strong the manufacture stated to sheer off the treads as it did it would have had to exceed 85Kpsi it likely went well beyond that.and not only did it sheer the threads it took the tabs that endure it will not close unless fully in battery. one of those tabs ended up in his lung

the barrel is around 25 pounds and the breach is designed to be a more solid lock up than the Barrett

Re: My 50 Cal Exploded - One lucky man! - 04/30/21 11:42 PM