Home

Looking for opinions

Posted By: Trap Setter

Looking for opinions - 07/01/21 11:12 PM

I am considering getting a range finder for hunting. Looking for economical options as id like one for myself and one for The Boy. I am not interested in long range shooting. They will be used for squirrels with a 22, bow hunting, and deer with a rifle under 200 yards. I see a few under a hundred apiece but as I've never even looked through one I wouldn't know what was better. Not sure they can be used for squirrel sized game or if leaves would give false readings or even if someone can see a small animal like that in a tree against a dark background of leaves or a bright background or sky. I won't pay more than 300 for both if it gets higher than that I'll just keep hunting the way I've been doing it for 30+ years lol
Posted By: Gary Benson

Re: Looking for opinions - 07/01/21 11:17 PM

At 200 yards I personally wouldn't spend the $ on a rangefinder..
I have never owned one.

Re: Looking for opinions - 07/01/21 11:27 PM

I know the 200 yards is really max distance and yeah for a deer rifle it's sighted in to be on at 200 so no real need. More for shooting 22 to its maximum range on squirrels. I put a couple scopes on our 22s with mil dots but haven't plinked much with em yet. The range finder is more that I want one so I might get one but its not important enough to go broke getting a couple
Posted By: Providence Farm

Re: Looking for opinions - 07/01/21 11:27 PM

Originally Posted by Gary Benson
At 200 yards I personally wouldn't spend the $ on a rangefinder..
I have never owned one.

He also said for bow hunting. And for his kid
I agree if just gun hunting for me but others don't have my experience.

Sig kilo 2000 is what I bought because it's accurate picked up much better than my Leopold rx 1000 I used to use.
I think it was in the low $225 ish range. Best I have found for the price.
Posted By: headache73

Re: Looking for opinions - 07/01/21 11:36 PM