Home

Is it too soon to die and wax traps

Posted By: RustyNail15

Is it too soon to die and wax traps - 08/10/21 09:42 PM

Hey guys so my question is it to soon to die and wax my traps? As I’m sure you can tell I’m new to trapping. I’m out of work for 14 days because I COVID close contact and don’t have much to do. Was thinking about dying and waxing my traps but season doesn’t start until November 1 here and North Carolina. My plan is to store them in a plastic Tupperware container outside once their died and waxed to continue to keep any set off of them?

Good idea or should I wait till I’m closer to season?
Posted By: west river rogue

Re: Is it too soon to die and wax traps - 08/10/21 09:48 PM

not at all....ive had traps dyed all yr. Some i didnt set and just treated more. Why wait?
Posted By: Turtledale

Re: Is it too soon to die and wax traps - 08/10/21 09:55 PM

Dye em wax em. Mine are done. Might buy some more at a rendezvous this week and have more to do though
Posted By: Mac

Re: Is it too soon to die and wax traps - 08/10/21 10:01 PM

I will share my experience with you for what it is worth. Want to say right up front that I am not a big canine guy but do trap for them.
Years ago I decided to dye and wax my traps way ahead of the season. During that time frame i had always stored my traps in galvanized garbage cans. For some reason, back in the 70s it was the trend around here. I believe people saw Alvin Yates and Neil Olson, both long line fox guys using them to keep traps in and just about everybody jumped on the band wagon.
The cans were bought new, thoroughly cleaned and made rugged containers.