Home

AR 15 5.56 help

Posted By: DiggerDale

AR 15 5.56 help - 09/13/21 08:49 PM

I am new to these AR guns and could use some direction... One has 223 WYLDE on the barrel and I was told 5.56 ammo would work thru it? It jammed a couple times when fast firing and I could see where the firing pin barely touched the primer. I see references recommending 5.56 "NATO" ammo. Are the bullets pictured acceptable?
Where is a good source for sights and accessories? I think I need a carry handle, rear sight combo like on the M 16.
Any help appreciated... Thanks Dale
[Linked Image]
Posted By: Hills of Texas

Re: AR 15 5.56 help - 09/13/21 08:57 PM

5,56 and 223 will fire through your at platform. I’ve not fooled with the wylde caliber so I’m no help there. Most ar 15s are milspec and pretty much should be interchangeable with lots of parts easily available online. You might try breaking the rifle down and cleaning it well. The lightly oil and see if it locks up better and has less fail to fires.
Posted By: Steven 49er

Re: AR 15 5.56 help - 09/13/21 09:05 PM

The Wylde is capable of shoothing both .223 and 5.56.
Posted By: Law Dog

Re: AR 15 5.56 help - 09/13/21 09:08 PM

Buddy had the same problem I changed out the firing pin with one I had and it worked fine after that you might try stronger springs in the trigger group those military primers are harder then normal primers so they say.

Re: AR 15 5.56 help - 09/13/21 09:19 PM

Originally Posted by Steven 49er

So 5.56 "NATO" is just a term for 5.56?
Posted By: Law Dog

Re: AR 15 5.56 help - 09/13/21 09:40 PM

Do a web search on the difference in the 5.56 and .223 round.

Re: AR 15 5.56 help - 09/13/21 09:45 PM

Originally Posted by Law Dog
Do a web search on the difference in the 5.56 and .223 round.

I did... Thats where things get confusing... Thought I'ld post here and get professional opinions... grin
Posted By: danny clifton

Re: AR 15 5.56 help - 09/13/21 09:47 PM