Posted By: Sprung & Rusty

Handy work thread (skill set) - 10/17/21 02:10 PM

Where did you learn your skills?
Posted By: CoonsBane

Re: Handy work thread (skill set) - 10/17/21 02:50 PM

My old man.
Posted By: slydogx

Re: Handy work thread (skill set) - 10/17/21 03:06 PM

I learned working on the shop floor at an aluminum window manufacturing plant. Needed to screw frames together square, cut miters, build jigs and fixtures, build shipping crates, etc.
Everything else I learned from the internet/YouTube.
My dad didn't have a lot of patience to teach LOL...but he was a great dad anyhow.
Posted By: Cragar

Re: Handy work thread (skill set) - 10/17/21 03:43 PM

Mostly self taught. Some trade school for auto mechanics but learned hands on for most.

Standing joke I like -

A young couple moves into their first house. There is a problem with an electrical wall switch and the husband is fixing it while his wife holds the flashlight.

She asks " How did you learn how to fix this ? "
He replies " By holding the flashlight "
Posted By: Oh Snap

Re: Handy work thread (skill set) - 10/17/21 03:59 PM

Now it’s holding the cell phone with YouTube on it!

Re: Handy work thread (skill set) - 10/17/21 04:15 PM

Originally Posted by Oh Snap
Now it’s holding the cell phone with YouTube on it!

YouTube is a great resource. I fixed the dollar bill acceptor in the soda machine at the firehouse. It was getting real cranky taking dollar bills. It would reject dollar bills 80% of the time. Real frustrating. It needed new intake belts that fed the dollar bills past the fake bill photoeye as the old belts were slipping just slightly causing the bills to get rejected.

I've never worked on a soda machine dollar bill acceptor , but got it fixed. Never would have been able to do it without YouTube.
Posted By: Scuba1

Re: Handy work thread (skill set) - 10/17/21 04:19 PM

Mostly blind luck
Posted By: T-Rex

Re: Handy work thread (skill set) - 10/17/21 04:20 PM