Home

Trap Thieves

Posted By: Yooper1978

Trap Thieves - 10/17/21 10:33 PM

So, two checks and 5 traps gone. Every trap that is gone was on a drag. I put them on a drag so the animals would be hidden. At every set that was taken were human tracks. This is my first time dealing with trap thieves. What do you do to reduce stolen traps? I want to put the traps where the animals walk!! This is all on public land over a 40 mile line.
Posted By: strike2x

Re: Trap Thieves - 10/17/21 10:48 PM

Report every time it happens. Might do no good for getting your traps back but will get authorities watching maybe. Unfortunately there is no way to stop trap thieves. Trail cameras on trails might help you figure out who is doing it.
Posted By: grumley701

Re: Trap Thieves - 10/17/21 10:51 PM

Bird hunters, bow huntrers or bear hunters... who else is in the woods this time of the year?
Posted By: ky_coyote_hunter

Re: Trap Thieves - 10/17/21 10:51 PM

Slide them on a 1/8 cable into cover, ditches, etc.
Posted By: foxkidd44

Re: Trap Thieves - 10/17/21 11:12 PM

As stated earlier,,,report those thefts,,, they may not find the thieves.. but there’s always the potential that your trap may wind up in an illegal situation with your name on it. Report thefts to cover your butt
Posted By: loosegoose

Re: Trap Thieves - 10/17/21 11:18 PM

Make some obvious sets, show up early, hide yourself, and take care of business when the thief shows up.
Posted By: ratbrain

Re: Trap Thieves - 10/18/21 12:23 AM

Had to deal with this myself last season on a farm where I have trapped 45+ years and NEVER lost a trap. My plan is to place a trail cam along the 2 track that leads to where my sets are located. Trouble is I do not know anything about trail cams!!!!!
Posted By: Trapper Dahlgren

Re: Trap Thieves - 10/18/21 09:48 AM

set them up [thieves] put a set back close to where one was stolen ,and put up lots of trail camera's , and let the DNR know what your doing , catch them
Posted By: K52