Home

Bear Lard

Posted By: Howell Bros

Bear Lard - 12/11/21 03:50 PM

I am gonna render some bear fat for lard. It's my first time rendering fat other than from hogs. Any tips? Planning on heating it in a Nesco. Will a crock pot work as well?
Posted By: nh toe pincher

Re: Bear Lard - 12/11/21 03:59 PM

Had a friend of the family when i was a kid that rendered bear fat, he used it for cooking & like butter. not sure of his method tho. he felt like he owed it to the animal to use everything possible. sound philosophy.
Posted By: washxc

Re: Bear Lard - 12/11/21 05:01 PM

I made a batch this year in the crockpot. Cut it up into chunks and render it on low all day. Worked great. I strained it through cheese cloth and fed the cracklings to the chickens once they cooled. We use it on boots and leather items, mostly up at camp where we can set things in front of the fireplace. Haven't tried cooking with it yet but I'm sure it'd work well. Very mild.
Posted By: Bob Jameson

Re: Bear Lard - 12/11/21 05:13 PM

I have only made it for shop use in some formulas, boot/leather treatments, patch lube etc. Not sure what the taste is like. It smells good both when heating it and after it cools.
Posted By: Knappett

Re: Bear Lard - 12/11/21 05:18 PM

iv done it in a crock pot with some water. I took mine from frozen and tan it through a meat grinder first so it would render down quicker. the put it in a crock pot with a good amount of water then left it on high untill all the fat was renderd. then skimmed it off the top of the water and poured it through a filter into mason jars. I keep it in the fridge and it lasts a long time. I use it for baking biscuits and for frying home fries.
Posted By: Osky

Re: Bear Lard - 12/11/21 05:20 PM

It actually does well on certain skin diseases. The lady who used it up here for pastries made better delights than I’ve ever had.

Osky
Posted By: newhouse114

Re: Bear Lard - 12/11/21 05:24 PM