Home

Drying peat moss out or use as is?

Posted By: FarmerDan

Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/25/22 11:00 PM

Do any of you dry your peat moss out and get it bone dry or do you just use as it comes? I normally just use it as is but thinking it might be better to try it out. The peat moss I get is normally pretty dry but definitely could be dryer.
Posted By: Drifter

Re: Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/25/22 11:34 PM

The dryer the better. Several buy a few bales and stick em in the barn to dry. Phil the fox man spreads his on the driveway to dry then has barrels he stores it in.
Posted By: Lugnut

Re: Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/25/22 11:34 PM

I have been using this stuff for many years. The moisture content varies quite a bit. I've dried it and used it straight out of the bag. I dry about twice as much as I think I'll need for the season and store it in 55-gallon drums in the fur shed. If I run out I use it straight out of the bag.

[Linked Image]
Posted By: 20scout

Re: Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/26/22 12:14 AM

I usually use wax sand but always have some peat moss as backup. Always have to dry it out as it come soaking wet right out of the bag.
Posted By: Yes sir

Re: Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/26/22 12:16 AM

Dried peat moss does its job better
Posted By: Swamp Wolf

Re: Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/26/22 12:35 AM

Every bag I've bought over the years had roots/sticks in it (70 lb bags from Lowe's)...so I have to sift the peat b4 use. This serves to clean it and dry it pretty good.
Posted By: bandy

Re: Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/26/22 12:47 AM

As is.
Posted By: 330-Trapper

Re: Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/26/22 12:53 AM

Dried on a tarp
Posted By: Hoosier71

Re: Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/26/22 01:17 AM

Dried on a tarp, sifted into buckets.
Posted By: ratbrain

Re: Drying peat moss out or use as is? - 07/26/22 01:10 PM

Originally Posted by Swamp Wolf