Home

Baught a piece

Posted By: WhiteTrash 88

Baught a piece - 09/09/22 02:13 AM

Of dirt with a house on it around 8 years ago. I did not have a survey done when I bought it, but got title insurance on the place. My neighbor just this year didn’t approve of where our boundaries meet and had a survey done. The results of his survey are interesting to say the least. His abstract deed that he has, along with his survey shows his line coming 78 feet past the existing fence which puts half the house on his said ground. My title insured deed, according to his survey, shows my ground going 180 feet past existing fence the opposite direction. So now we have a boundary dispute. I checked at the county’s courthouse and find out that I have been paying taxes for 8 years now on the 180 feet past the fence. We had a meeting at title company to try and rectify the dispute, to no avail. That meeting took place 2-3 months ago. Just yesterday my neighbor brings a track hoe in onto the disputed ground and start’s ripping trees and brush out and digging ditches. Going to see a lawyer tomorrow about the situation. I didn’t think you could do something like that on ground that is in dispute. Of course I didn’t think I had a problem since I had title insurance on said ground and have been paying taxes on it. My neighbor is getting on my last nerve.
What say you arm chair lawyers?
Posted By: corky

Re: Baught a piece - 09/09/22 02:21 AM

A friend of mine had a similar situation. The Title Company refused to pay or rectify the situation because he did not have the property surveyed when he bought. Their attitude was they insured what he bought and it was not their fault that what he bought was not what he thought he bought. He lost about half of the property's value. I wish you luck but have no advice.
Posted By: NonPCfed

Re: Baught a piece - 09/09/22 02:22 AM

Wow, that's screwed up!!