Home

So Far This Season... ALL DONE FOR NOW...

Posted By: Actor

So Far This Season... ALL DONE FOR NOW... - 11/11/22 05:54 PM

And then it rained, and rained, and rained, and is still raining. Needless to say, I got wet this morning. I got out 8 sets yesterday, using in part new type of sets for me. I have never used floats before and decided to give them a try. Two float sets for mink and two for rats.

I used apple, carrots and Dakota Line lure for rats on the floats. This pond is shallow and filled with weeds. It is almost impossible to find the dens, although there are tracks and other evidence of rat and mink activity. For floats... I cobbled up pieces of wood and made them work.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

For the mink floats I used barker mounting bracket for my #110's. I used muskrat for bait. Last year I froze 5 or 6 rats, minus tail and feet. Frozen them solid and sawed each rat in either 3 or 4 pieces depending on their length. Each piece was placed into a Ziploc sandwich bag. When I am ready to use them I place them in refrigerator the night before and they are thawed by morning.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

We must have this type of bait covered when used in Ohio. So, I tacked the black plastic tray over the bait and ran the anchor stake through the bait, to make it more difficult to get

[Linked Image]

I also made tile set for mink in a pond overflow ditch, placing a chunk of the bait in the tile with a #110 at each end.

[Linked Image]

I ended up only catching 3 rats today... all 3 in 2 of the colony traps I set. 2 Large and 1 dink.

[Linked Image]

I located a couple more holes today and in spite of the rain made a couple of new sets.