Home

Wisconsin late bobcat season opens tomorrow

Posted By: AJE

Wisconsin late bobcat season opens tomorrow - 12/26/22 02:46 AM

Good luck to all of you who drew a tag

Re: Wisconsin late bobcat season opens tomorrow - 01/05/23 02:42 AM

It's been brutally challenging so far. The weather couldn't be much worse. I don't think I've ever seen so much rain in the winter as I have the past week.
Posted By: nimzy

Re: Wisconsin late bobcat season opens tomorrow - 01/05/23 02:50 AM

Good movin nights.
Posted By: Steel Jaw

Re: Wisconsin late bobcat season opens tomorrow - 01/05/23 03:01 AM

I am new to trapping in Wi. We have a lot of bobcats in my area, in Southern Wi. Is it pretty difficult to get a tag? And which is the preferred season?
Posted By: Bob

Re: Wisconsin late bobcat season opens tomorrow - 01/05/23 03:06 AM

How hard is it to get a bobcat tag there? Do you sell your cats or keep for trophies?

Re: Wisconsin late bobcat season opens tomorrow - 01/05/23 03:09 AM

Keep them.

It's harder to draw a late season tag than it is an early season. And it's harder yet in the northern zone vs the southern zone.

It took me 3 years to get my tag. Bobcat trapping here is tough, even though season is over a month long.

I like the late season partly because of the weather but I'm having second thoughts about that based on the weather we've had the past week.

Population seems to be on the rise in the southern zone, despite increased harvest quotas.

Posted By: tlguy

Re: Wisconsin late bobcat season opens tomorrow - 01/05/23 03:09 AM

In the southern zone (south of Hwy 64) you cam get a tag every 2-3 years. In the northern part of the state the earlier season is usually preferred for trapping because there should be more snow on the ground in the later season. Not sure about how the snow factors into the southern zone.

Re: Wisconsin late bobcat season opens tomorrow - 01/05/23 03:14 AM