Home

New RV

Posted By: Bosco

New RV - 03/01/23 06:11 PM

I just bought a new RV but now worry I might not have enough truck, the RV is a 30' 2 axle , they say is 1/2 ton towable,I have a3/4 ton Chevy Duramax standard . Any experts here?I will get a equalizer hitch for it.
Posted By: AntiGov

Re: New RV - 03/01/23 06:15 PM

That's not a problem at all for that truck

And yes the weight distribution hitch is a must
Posted By: Donnersurvivor

Re: New RV - 03/01/23 06:16 PM

Originally Posted by Bosco
I just bought a new RV but now worry I might not have enough truck, the RV is a 30' 2 axle , they say is 1/2 ton towable,I have a3/4 ton Chevy Duramax standard . Any experts here?I will get a equalizer hitch for it.

What's it weigh?

I'm not an expert by any means but I suspect you'll be fine. Of course towing flat land is much different than the mountains. What year is the Duramax and what is the tow Capacity?

Re: New RV - 03/01/23 06:19 PM

How long is your truck ? Crew cab ?

If it's a regular cab I'd add the sway control system to the weight distribution Hitch
Posted By: Muskeg

Re: New RV - 03/01/23 06:20 PM

You’ve got a Chevy. Might as well stay home.

Re: New RV - 03/01/23 06:50 PM

The camper dry weight is around 7000lbs. My owners manual says I can tow 12,000lbs. Its an older "05" truck, single cab longbed,single wheel axle. I'm in Montana so we got hills/mountains! It is a standard transmission and I think its low geared.
Posted By: Leftlane

Re: New RV - 03/01/23 07:44 PM

I would worry more about trailer whip headed down a big grade than being able to pull it up one. Keeping up with the trailer brakes and getting your brake control dialed in can help.
Posted By: Michigander

Re: New RV - 03/01/23 08:07 PM

Plenty of truck for that camper.
Posted By: arcticotter

Re: New RV - 03/01/23 08:09 PM

You shouldn’t have any problems. I pull a 30ft 5th wheel with a 17ft Lund boat behind it with a GMC 3/4 ton 6.0 gas.
Posted By: warrior