Home

What is your story?

Posted By: Blaine County

What is your story? - 05/18/23 07:54 PM

A guy at lunch asked me how did you get where you are today? We shared our stories and I learned a lot about him. When I got back to my office I thought about it while posting on Tman.

In some of our spirited discussions, we assume too much about other Tman members. I am guilty of it. A little sharing may give all of us some perspective. I am happy to start.

My story:

I did not plan on going to college. I started mowing yards and doing other odd jobs in the town where I grew up when I was 13 or 14. I was painting houses by the age of 16, but also worked with an electrician from to 16 to 18. I had to work hard because our mother raised three of us and I was expected to pay my way as soon as I could contribute financially. My grandparents helped when they could.

I intended to be an electrician, but when I graduated high school I went to work in the oilfield. I decided after some time to go to college. A great boss encouraged me to do it and allowed me to schedule work around classes during the fall, winter and spring. He would also let me work 6 to 7 days a week on school breaks and in the summer. My boss was also a hunter so we made some time for that too. The oilfield paid my way through college and law school. I kept that job until I got my first legal job--about a year before I took the bar exam. I will never forget how much I hated being in an office. It was years before I got used to it and still might not be.

I hunted and fished since I was little but never trapped until I about five years after I bought the first part of my farm. I had always wanted a farm and worked hard to get it. I have added on over the years and will haunt my kids if they ever sell it. I have now trapped for 15 years (I think) and am still learning.