Home

Journal 2017-18

Posted By: Sissy

Journal 2017-18 - 12/02/17 07:24 AM

My name is Sissy and I am from a small northwest village on the Norton Sound in Alaska. I have a bachelors in mathematics and grew up on an old reindeer herding farm 13 miles north of the village I currently live in. My dad used to trap out of there when I was a little human. I started trapping with my trapping partner, Gregg, in 2011 when I moved back to the village after graduating from college. We have a line up the Little North, the North River, the main river, and have set traps up the Egavik River.
Posted By: Family Trapper

Re: Journal 2017-18 - 12/02/17 07:32 AM

Welcome Sissy. Look forward to your Journal What animal are you trapping?

Re: Journal 2017-18 - 12/02/17 07:43 AM

My trapping partner, Gregg, and I were finally able to get out on Monday to break trail and get some sets in. The weather out here hasn't been cooperative for rivers and creeks to freeze and the snow was late in coming.

I left town as the sky was starting to get light. As soon as I started to leave my headlights went out. I patted my pocket to make sure my head lamp was there, turned off my hand and thumb warmers, and took off. The light was flat and it was windy. I kept putting my goggles on and off, trying not to hit drifts and jar my insides.

As the morning grew lighter, my drive got easier. The mouth and lower part of the river were open less than a week ago, so I went overland. There was bunny sign everywhere along my drive up to my trapping partner's cabin. He was still cooking breakfast, so I took most of my gear off and curled up with dogs vying for my attention.