Home

Advice

Posted By: Ray smith

Advice - 11/12/18 01:49 AM

I don't know if there is already an article on this or not but just trying to spice up the forum a bit... so what is some advice you would give new trappers
Posted By: Bogmaster

Re: Advice - 11/12/18 05:12 AM

Learn everything you can,about the animals you are going after.
Knowledge is the key to a good trapper.
Tom
Posted By: trapre

Re: Advice - 11/12/18 04:57 PM

I couldn't give any trapping advice as I'm a beginner myself. But I would say, stay on/get on trapperman! I have had so many different people give me advice via this site!

Just a personal experience. I asked about bipods on here a month and a half ago and a trapper\predator hunter that lives 45 minutes from me contacted me and said he would give me one. I was near him one day and went and met him to pick it up. He showed me his fur shed and gave me so many tips and tricks. He offered to come up to my place and give me tips on locations and other stuff. In the meantime before he came up I asked about his fleshing beam. I planned to buy one off of F&T and wondered what size to get. Instead of giving me detentions he gave me a contact to a retired trapper 30 minutes away from me that makes beams. So I went over and bought a beam from him for $25 instead of $45. Then he came down and showed me baits, lures, we drove around the valley while he pointed out good locations, gave me tips on the fur shed and told me about "deer dust".

My point is, do not be afraid to ask questions on here. Someone will give you an answer. And you will learn alot.
Posted By: Pasadena

Re: Advice - 11/13/18 03:03 AM

Originally Posted by trapre
I couldn't give any trapping advice as I'm a beginner myself.